Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 18

Thread: NVIDIA (Optimus) PRIME Update Lands In Ubuntu 14.04

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,628

    Default NVIDIA (Optimus) PRIME Update Lands In Ubuntu 14.04

    Phoronix: NVIDIA (Optimus) PRIME Update Lands In Ubuntu 14.04

    The nvidia-prime 0.5 package landed today for Ubuntu 14.04 in the long-standing effort to improve NVIDIA Optimus laptop support under Linux for systems with both Intel and NVIDIA graphics processors...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU0MDI

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    8

    Default no moreBumblebee

    Finally we can switch between CPU and GPU.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    341

    Default

    I assume this only works with the open source drivers. Am I right?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    152

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarmad View Post
    I assume this only works with the open source drivers. Am I right?
    Only with proprietary.

    We only support laptops with NVIDIA
    optimus hardware and nvidia driver >= 319
    Added prime-select switcher to switch between the
    integrated and the discrete GPU. This allows users
    to disable the discrete GPU to save power. Users'
    settings are now saved and applied on log out and
    on boot.
    Meh. I'll stay with Bumblebee...

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    Only with proprietary.
    That is surprising. How can that work with the proprietary driver, don't they need the driver to support that kind of functionality? Did nVidia add support for such thing already in their drivers? If so, why didn't they go all the way to make Optimus supported by default in their drivers like they do on Windows?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarmad View Post
    That is surprising. How can that work with the proprietary driver, don't they need the driver to support that kind of functionality? Did nVidia add support for such thing already in their drivers? If so, why didn't they go all the way to make Optimus supported by default in their drivers like they do on Windows?
    It looks like they did add some support to nvidia-settings; finally Nvidia half-heartedly supporting Optimus on Linux?
    http://www.webupd8.org/2013/12/more-...a-optimus.html

    Unfortunately the "muxless systems" comment makes me think the Macbook I'm using will still have mostly broken support.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Taupo, New Zealand
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarmad View Post
    That is surprising. How can that work with the proprietary driver, don't they need the driver to support that kind of functionality? Did nVidia add support for such thing already in their drivers? If so, why didn't they go all the way to make Optimus supported by default in their drivers like they do on Windows?
    From what I've heard they do want support, but the kernel thingys they need aren't available for non-open source drivers.

    linux.slashdot.org/story/12/10/11/1918251/alan-cox-to-nvidia-you-cant-use-dma-buf

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    172

    Default

    Being able to change the gpu tu use at next reboot? Seems like what Catalyst offers now to me.

    And nvidia-prime code is "Copyright 2013 Canonical Ltd.", like the Catalyst code to switch gpu.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    936

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by beaverusiv View Post
    From what I've heard they do want support, but the kernel thingys they need aren't available for non-open source drivers.

    linux.slashdot.org/story/12/10/11/1918251/alan-cox-to-nvidia-you-cant-use-dma-buf
    Then again: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTMwMjI

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    526

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kwahoo View Post
    Meh. I'll stay with Bumblebee...
    Assuming your only concern is having to logout to use, and the PRIME and all the necessary power control parts are not yet done and integrated into the kernel, this seems like a great stop gap solution. I mean, come one, how hard is it to log out and back in? Firefox/Chrome saves your tabs, and most applications fast start because they are still in memory.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •