Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 35

Thread: GNOME Terminal Gets Text Rewrap On Resizing

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    225

    Default

    Terminology and Final Term also have this feature.

    http://finalterm.org/

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    48

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n3wu53r View Post
    Terminology and Final Term also have this feature.

    http://finalterm.org/
    Yes! Even modern terminal have the preview pictrues feature, incredible! lol

    I think I'm goidn to adopt Final Term, nice app :-)

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    840

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by sarmad View Post
    Not quite sure what you mean here since transparency has never been taken away.
    ..or you just are mistaken

    Gnome 3.8 removed transparency and some other features from gnome-terminal. I was going to post a link to the bugzilla report - but it's getting an internal error / not working. Regardless, it's _even_ on wikipedia (lulz); http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNOME_Terminal#Background

    Quote Originally Posted by wikipedia
    Transparent background. Users can also select any amount of transparency (ranging from fully transparent to fully opaque). If the user has the option for compositing turned on, the background will reveal the windows behind the terminal window. Otherwise, if compositing is disabled, the terminal will only be translucent with the user's desktop wallpaper. Translucent backgrounds are desired because the user can read text behind the terminal while entering commands into the command line. In Gnome Terminal 3.8 and onwards the option for a transparent background was removed.[8]
    ..But maybe you are using Ubuntu (or another distro patching it) and just aren't aware of the situation. [Ubuntu /possibly others are patching patching 'post-3.8 releases' of gnome-terminal [so am i]. (Ubuntu gnome-terminal-3.8.0 change log); https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+...-archive-extra

    * note the 02_add_transparency_properties.patch under 'debian/patches'.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by legluondunet View Post
    Yes! Even modern terminal have the preview pictrues feature, incredible! lol

    I think I'm goidn to adopt Final Term, nice app :-)
    Still under heavy development; no real release. You will likely have to build from git.
    Still a lot of performance issues.
    https://github.com/p-e-w/finalterm/issues/150
    Which is realted to: https://mail.gnome.org/archives/clut.../msg00010.html

    Performance Breakthrough
    Many of the "improvements" made in the past months have slowed down Final Term, and two weeks ago, it at last became clear to me that development of terminal functionality could not continue in earnest without fixing the performance first.

    As a result, a number of changes were made to bring Final Term up to speed. It is now "only" 8-10 times slower than GNOME Terminal, which isn't anything to write home about but might be excused given that Final Term manages a much more complex model of the terminal output. In practice, the difference should be hardly noticeable.

    Once the remaining problem, absurdly high CPU usage when idle, is fixed (which you can help with by answering https://mail.gnome.org/archives/clut.../msg00010.html!), Final Term's performance will be ready for the initial release.
    Taken from http://blog.finalterm.org/2013/09/becoming-big.html

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    339

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ninez View Post
    ..or you just are mistaken

    Gnome 3.8 removed transparency and some other features from gnome-terminal. I was going to post a link to the bugzilla report - but it's getting an internal error / not working. Regardless, it's _even_ on wikipedia (lulz); http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/GNOME_Terminal#Background



    ..But maybe you are using Ubuntu (or another distro patching it) and just aren't aware of the situation. [Ubuntu /possibly others are patching patching 'post-3.8 releases' of gnome-terminal [so am i]. (Ubuntu gnome-terminal-3.8.0 change log); https://launchpad.net/~gnome3-team/+...-archive-extra

    * note the 02_add_transparency_properties.patch under 'debian/patches'.
    Oh, I see. Yeah, I'm using Ubuntu and I'm still on Ubuntu 13.04 which doesn't have 3.8. Then, let me add my voice to you guys: no transparency in 2013!! WTH?!

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2013
    Posts
    6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by n3wu53r View Post
    Still under heavy development; no real release. You will likely have to build from git.
    Still a lot of performance issues.
    Just tried that. It looks really great, but the performance issues are not the worst part. Copy & paste doesn't even work. Waiting for a real release.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    225

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pizzapill View Post
    Just tried that. It looks really great, but the performance issues are not the worst part. Copy & paste doesn't even work. Waiting for a real release.
    https://github.com/p-e-w/finalterm/issues/7

    It will be fixed for the final release.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,435

    Default

    It's nice that it's available but I'd rather Gnome adopt Final Term (http://finalterm.org/). It's nowhere near ready yet (doesn't handle output properly for even something like top, and uses too much memory/cpu) but it has such a good start. Its borrowed features from fish, hotwire, and probably others. That is what a nextgen terminal should look like.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    326

    Default

    They say, that the feature was removed in a restructuration process of the old code base, in order to raise the code quality. Some memory leaks could be fixed that way. Maybe it will return in the future. I'm wondering if this transparency was portable to wayland, anyway. But I couldn't care less, as I préfère a solid background - makes the output way better readable for me than anything transparent.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    368

    Default

    How can anyone use a transparent terminal?
    If the clean up of the code base resulted in the rewrap functionality the loss of transparency was a good sacrifice.
    Last edited by Akka; 12-10-2013 at 06:19 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •