Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Fedora 20 GNOME Bug Could Reveal Your Password

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,388

    Default Fedora 20 GNOME Bug Could Reveal Your Password

    Phoronix: Fedora 20 GNOME Bug Could Reveal Your Password

    There's a peculiar new bug affecting the soon-to-be-released Fedora 20 that could reveal a user's password when switching between users with the GNOME desktop...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTUyNjc

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    130

    Default

    It seems this bug can't be reproduced if you only have one user on your host, lucky.

    However I'm wondering how could it ever happen? Shouldn't the password be cleared immediately after being used?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    83

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by zxy_thf View Post
    It seems this bug can't be reproduced if you only have one user on your host, lucky.

    However I'm wondering how could it ever happen? Shouldn't the password be cleared immediately after being used?
    What's the drama about? The bug got filled on Nov 25 and a fix has been submitted on Nov 25.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by drago01 View Post
    What's the drama about? The bug got filled on Nov 25 and a fix has been submitted on Nov 25.
    "Upgrade the gnome-shell you beta testers!"

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    633

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Hahaha! True Red Hat SELinux security.
    It has nothing to SELinux. Furthermore, this bug happen in the non final version. It's not windows where security isn't taken into consideration.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    626

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Hahaha! True Red Hat SELinux security.
    Yet another trollish remark by the village idiot.
    (Bug was fixed on the same day, BTW).

    - Gilboa
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX780, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    89

    Default

    Upstream bug has been present for more than a month, but none seems to have noticed it untill RH bug was submitted.

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=710456

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Israel
    Posts
    626

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Krejzi View Post
    Upstream bug has been present for more than a month, but none seems to have noticed it untill RH bug was submitted.

    https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=710456
    Which gives extra credit to the RH people...

    - Gilboa
    DEV: Intel S2600C0, 2xE52658V2, 32GB, 4x2TB, GTX780, F20/x86_64, Dell U2711.
    SRV: Intel S5520SC, 2xX5680, 36GB, 4x2TB, GTX550, F20/x86_64, Dell U2412..
    BACK: Tyan Tempest i5400XT, 2xE5335, 8GB, 3x1.5TB, 9800GTX, F20/x86-64.
    LAP: ASUS N56VJ, i7-3630QM, 16GB, 1TB, 635M, F20/x86_64.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Microsoft takes security seriously.
    So real that they report any exploit to the NSA first, before even thinking about patching it, so that the NSA can use it to undermine Windows' security.
    Yeah, we can see how serious they are about security.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,269

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    What?
    You haven't been following the Snowden revelations?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •