Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 25 of 25

Thread: Issues with vgaswitcheroo disappearing?

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    All necessary changes are already in 3.13-rc7.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    111

    Default

    The issue has been fixed for some chipsets. Errors are no longer appear for most (all?) chipsets in the last 2 kernel RCs. However, for 7xxxM series we're still running into an issue where the dGPU doesn't properly power off once X is started, but stays at a state of DynPwr (instead of DynOff when DRI_PRIME=1 is not set anywhere):

    https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=65761

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dffx View Post
    The issue has been fixed for some chipsets. Errors are no longer appear for most (all?) chipsets in the last 2 kernel RCs. However, for 7xxxM series we're still running into an issue where the dGPU doesn't properly power off once X is started, but stays at a state of DynPwr (instead of DynOff when DRI_PRIME=1 is not set anywhere):

    https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=65761
    I can confirm this with Mobility Radeon 7750M.
    In addition my dmesg shows me weird error:
    Code:
    [drm:si_dpm_set_power_state] *ERROR* si_set_sw_state failed
    Hopefully it would be fixed in 3.14 due to dpm rework made by Alex.

    By the way, did anyone see these messages:
    Code:
    [   45.019084] [drm] stuck on render ring
    [   45.019094] [drm] GPU crash dump saved to /sys/class/drm/card1/error
    [   45.019096] [drm] GPU hangs can indicate a bug anywhere in the entire gfx stack, including userspace.
    [   45.019108] [drm] Please file a _new_ bug report on bugs.freedesktop.org against DRI -> DRM/Intel
    [   45.019109] [drm] drm/i915 developers can then reassign to the right component if it's not a kernel issue.
    [   45.019110] [drm] The gpu crash dump is required to analyze gpu hangs, so please always attach it.
    Should I report a bug for intel developers? I also use the following comand line parameters during the boot:
    Code:
    i915.i915_enable_rc6=7 i915.i915_enable_fbc=1 i915.lvds_downclock=1 drm.vblankoffdelay=1
    Can they cause such behavior?

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Just tried to boot without radeon.runpm=1. So the status of discrete card is DynOff. Unfortunately xrandr --listproviders sees only intel.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    61

    Default

    Is there any news? According to this bug report the issue is still there. Is there any way to help developers?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •