Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 27

Thread: AMD Publishes HDA Audio GPU Documentation

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    227

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Unless you're hitting one of the bugs you can enable it yourself with radeon.audio=1 though I agree it should be on by default
    Uh even on SI hardware? Last time I checked there was no support for it... will try that anyway tomorrow morning.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    292

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    ! Amd forever!!!! Nvidia:

    Thats why i bought a new hd7850(180) passiv cooled for my system this month YES YES YES : FUCK YOU NVIDIA!!!!!

    We just don't need nvidia anymore so please die faster Nvidia...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,750

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by r1348 View Post
    Uh even on SI hardware? Last time I checked there was no support for it... will try that anyway tomorrow morning.
    Not sure about SI >_> Alex? *cough*

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,277

    Default

    Support for SI/TN and newer hardware was added in 3.12. Additionally, with 3.12 you no longer need to boot with radeon.audio=1. You can enable/disable audio on the fly with xrandr. E.g., xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio auto

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,750

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Support for SI/TN and newer hardware was added in 3.12. Additionally, with 3.12 you no longer need to boot with radeon.audio=1. You can enable/disable audio on the fly with xrandr. E.g., xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio auto
    I'm assuming "--set audio" takes on/off/auto as arguments? With defaulting to auto, i would hope. So the only thing I should have to do is plug in my HDMI cable and point a stream from Pulseaudio at the HDMI connection and I should get output on the other end of the connection?

    Side question, is xrandr persistent? I know screen settings werent really persistent, but other settings? Like if i wanted to turn HDMI audio off with

    Code:
     xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio off
    would that persist across reboots?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,277

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    I'm assuming "--set audio" takes on/off/auto as arguments? With defaulting to auto, i would hope. So the only thing I should have to do is plug in my HDMI cable and point a stream from Pulseaudio at the HDMI connection and I should get output on the other end of the connection?

    Side question, is xrandr persistent? I know screen settings werent really persistent, but other settings? Like if i wanted to turn HDMI audio off with

    Code:
     xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio off
    would that persist across reboots?
    It currently defaults to off (there are still some systems that have problems) and randr settings are not persistent (although perhaps some desktop environments store the user's randr property preferences). I'd like to eventually switch to auto by default, but for now you'll need to set it to auto youself.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Apr 2013
    Posts
    57

    Default

    Amazing. LPCM 24-bit 7.1 channel audio on my Linux box is very close!!!

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    in front of my box :p
    Posts
    735

    Default

    I am also not affected by HDMI audio since I use classic methods and dedicated audio interfaces. Nevertheless: Good to read these news. A lot of people DO use HDMI adio. Things like this make life just better.
    I recently threw money for Mom's new PC at AMD, and I'll continue to throw (as soon as I happen to have some). My eyes are on a E-1800 system for HTPC purposes...

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    941

    Default

    Now only if NVIDIA will follow suit with code for their HDMI audio implementations as used on their cards, but not holding my breath...

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    338

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    Support for SI/TN and newer hardware was added in 3.12. Additionally, with 3.12 you no longer need to boot with radeon.audio=1. You can enable/disable audio on the fly with xrandr. E.g., xrandr --output HDMI-0 --set audio auto
    That didn't work. Setting radeon.audio=1 helped, though.
    Trinity, 5800K.

    Thanks, this was the last big missing feature for me!
    Here's hoping that xbmc will work with vdpau -- but ubuntu doesn't even build the gallium state tracker in xorg-edgers yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •