Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: GLAMOR Acceleration Makes It Into Ubuntu 13.10

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,411

    Default GLAMOR Acceleration Makes It Into Ubuntu 13.10

    Phoronix: GLAMOR Acceleration Makes It Into Ubuntu 13.10

    One week after writing about the sad state of RadeonSI / GLAMOR support in Ubuntu 13.10, the GLAMOR EGL library has made it through the Saucy Salamander's queue and landed into the archive for next month's Ubuntu 13.10 release...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ2NTg

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    GLAMOR is enabled by default in the radeon drivers now, this is not at all something that Canonical has done, all distributions will get this.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    136

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vim_User View Post
    GLAMOR is enabled by default in the radeon drivers now, this is not at all something that Canonical has done, all distributions will get this.
    GLAMOR was not included in 13.10 archive before feature freeze. So what $BOSS said
    Canonical does what is necessary for the end user! Great work! Keep going!
    Is true

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    168

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Once again, Canonical does what is necessary for the end user! Great work! Keep going! Forget the haters!
    So if Fedora does the same even for Fedora 18 since May:
    https://admin.fedoraproject.org/upda...6283cd05ca9195
    which is not the next release, and not even their latest stable release, but their second latest stable: how should we call that? A miracle?

    I don't dislike Ubuntu, but packaging something is good, not something I'd call an extraordinary contribution. Before thanking Canonical (which I do), I'd thank Glamor developer, and Fedora packagers for opening the way.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Edinburgh, UK
    Posts
    53

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Once again, Canonical does what is necessary for the end user! Great work! Keep going! Forget the haters!
    Gentoo also has Glamor since May 2012 (and in stable version since Nov 2012)...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vim_User View Post
    GLAMOR is enabled by default in the radeon drivers now, this is not at all something that Canonical has done, all distributions will get this.
    Hmm, I tried a saucy daily image yesterday on my 7850 desktop and wasn't able to get anything other than llvmpipe still (at least from glxinfo), even after installing the GLAMOR module (grabbed it from package manager; had to also move the glamoregl.so file to a specific folder for Xorg to pick it up).

    Not sure if I was doing something wrong or if that's just how it's supposed to be? Is there a way to verify that I'm running GLAMOR acceleration and that I have 3D hardware acceleration?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
    Hmm, I tried a saucy daily image yesterday on my 7850 desktop and wasn't able to get anything other than llvmpipe still (at least from glxinfo), even after installing the GLAMOR module (grabbed it from package manager; had to also move the glamoregl.so file to a specific folder for Xorg to pick it up).

    Not sure if I was doing something wrong or if that's just how it's supposed to be? Is there a way to verify that I'm running GLAMOR acceleration and that I have 3D hardware acceleration?
    The article is misleading. Glamor is disabled by default in xf86-video-ati, so there is no acceleration for Radeon SI. The glamor packages are currently useless.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marek View Post
    The article is misleading. Glamor is disabled by default in xf86-video-ati, so there is no acceleration for Radeon SI. The glamor packages are currently useless.
    Thanks for the clarification Marek. Can it be flipped on with a boot parameter or does it require recompiling xf86-video-ati with a particular flag? In either case, what is the correct parameter/flag to use?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    629

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madbiologist View Post
    Thanks for the clarification Marek. Can it be flipped on with a boot parameter or does it require recompiling xf86-video-ati with a particular flag? In either case, what is the correct parameter/flag to use?
    Manual recompilation of xf86-video-ati is required, but glamor must be installed first. If you didn't get xf86-video-ati from git, use the --enable-glamor configure option.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •