Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,816

    Default Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

    Phoronix: Open-Source ATI R500 3D Milestone!

    Coming just a day after AMD had opened up their production microcode from their proprietary drivers for the R100 to R600 GPUs, a significant milestone has been reached in the road to open-source 3D graphics capabilities for the Radeon X1000 (R500) series. We now have hardware-accelerated glxgears!

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=12073

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,133

    Default

    Wow.

    I'll wait till the first 3D work goes into master, but still, impressive...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    15

    Default

    I'm impressed!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Haifa
    Posts
    55

    Default

    When I realized what a mess ATI drivers were when I got my Dell Inspiron with the X1400 back in January 2007, I was very disappointed and swore off ATI, with the promise that I will never buy another ATI or AMD component again. I take that back. I am proud of ATI since they've changed face last September, and they are rather close to earning me back as a customer.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    3,046

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dotancohen View Post
    When I realized what a mess ATI drivers were when I got my Dell Inspiron with the X1400 back in January 2007, I was very disappointed and swore off ATI, with the promise that I will never buy another ATI or AMD component again. I take that back. I am proud of ATI since they've changed face last September, and they are rather close to earning me back as a customer.
    Indeed. That's my current take on things. It's still not there yet, but that's not because of ATI's doings, save indirectly (It took 'em long enough to get us data... ). In the end, I'm still not using ATI, not because they're not the choice- the support's not gelled enough yet. Until that's the story, I still can't tell someone to get one of AMD's GPUs yet.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    64

    Default

    I am proud of ATI since they've changed face last September, and they are rather close to earning me back as a customer.
    Let me second that, all I need is some more performace (Windows gaming, sorry folks ), but I'm sure RV770 will satisfy my needs.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Posts
    1

    Default

    I have a RV515 (X1300) and will certainly run this free driver if it runs Compiz properly...

    Can never get compiz to work with the non-free drivers!

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Eire
    Posts
    58

    Default

    I just tried this (ie compiled and installed mesalib, libdrm and the drm kernel modules) from David Airlie's git repo.

    `startx` locked up my machine completely, however I have this in my Xorg.0.log (after a hard reset );
    Code:
    (II) RADEON(0): Direct rendering enabled
    (II) RADEON(0): Render acceleration unsupported on Radeon 9500/9700 and newer.
    (II) RADEON(0): Render acceleration disabled
    (II) RADEON(0): Using XFree86 Acceleration Architecture (XAA)
            Screen to screen bit blits
            Solid filled rectangles
            8x8 mono pattern filled rectangles
            Indirect CPU to Screen color expansion
            Solid Lines
            Scanline Image Writes
            Offscreen Pixmaps
            Setting up tile and stipple cache:
                    32 128x128 slots
                    32 256x256 slots
                    16 512x512 slots
    (II) RADEON(0): Acceleration enabled
    I also have this in the system logs;
    Code:
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Initialized radeon 1.28.0 20060524 on minor 0
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Setting GART location based on new memory map
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] writeback test failed
    This is with an x1950 pro agp card (rv570).

    I know I really can't expect to get this working right now, however the Xorg.0.log has kind of got my hopes up, anyone have any ideas of anything I could try?

    I'd be perfectly happy just to have direct rendering working...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    39

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sadako View Post
    I just tried this (ie compiled and installed mesalib, libdrm and the drm kernel modules) from David Airlie's git repo.
    ...

    I also have this in the system logs;
    Code:
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] ACPI: PCI Interrupt 0000:01:00.0[A] -> GSI 16 (level, low) -> IRQ 16
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Initialized radeon 1.28.0 20060524 on minor 0
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Found an AGP 3.0 compliant device at 0000:00:00.0.
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:00:00.0 into 8x mode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] agpgart: Putting AGP V3 device at 0000:01:00.0 into 8x mode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Setting GART location based on new memory map
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] Loading R300 Microcode
    Mar 21 19:00:43 [kernel] [drm] writeback test failed
    This is with an x1950 pro agp card (rv570).

    I know I really can't expect to get this working right now, however the Xorg.0.log has kind of got my hopes up, anyone have any ideas of anything I could try?

    I'd be perfectly happy just to have direct rendering working...
    Your DRM module is loading the R300 microcode and it looks like it is an old version. Are you sure you are loading the new DRM module you built? It normally drops them in /usr/local

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    321

    Default

    This is most definately a huge achievement... I can't wait to see what else will happen, because it's going to open the field heavily once more of the opengl support is coded in to the driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •