Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Doom 3 native on Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default Doom 3 native on Linux

    My pc is dual boot windows 7 and openSUSE 12.3 (Linux)

    I bought this game, through steam, together with roe.
    Played it on win 7, and it worked.

    Since steam came to Linux, I am trying to reboot into windows as little as possible.
    Because Doom 3 should work on Linux too, I used google, and found this:

    http://anton.logvinenko.name/en/blog/ho ... linux.html

    It all worked fine, but when I start doom 3, it wants me to fill in the cd key.

    So I quitted doom 3, en used my file browser to find the cd key in steam on windows.
    I found it , it was 16 characters long.

    I tried to type it in a few times, but I get invalid cd every time.
    Then tried copying the key file from windows to Linux.

    That did not work either.

    Does anybody know any legal solutions on how to solve this ?

    Some one sugested,
    find a copy of the D3 GPL code w/o CD key, compile and use that.
    I have never compiled anything.
    So I need a little help.

    Or are there maybe better solutions?

    I did found this, but I am already lost on what to download.
    https://github.com/id-Software/DOOM-3

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Location
    England, United Kingdom
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Have you tried this install file? http://www.1337-server.net/doom3/doo...1.1304.x86.run

    This might work - all you then need is the data files & the product key.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default

    That is the same file I already downloaded, and it seems to work, until I have to fill in the cd key.

    I did found this however:

    http://wiki.iodoom3.org/Downloading_...ng_under_Linux

    The part that worries me though:

    Setting up the keys

    The original source code includes a CD-KEY protection mechanism to avoid piracy. Even if it is trivial to remove this protection once the sources are available, we encourage you not to do so as a sign of respect for all the great work they do at ID Software. Just remember this: if we play nice, in a few years they will open source Rage's engine . Please, buy the original game.

    When you buy the original game you will receive a "key". Place it in the following file:

    That is what I already tried, but did not work.

    So I would need to compile and take out the protection part.

    To me it looks the steam keys are different form the ones on a jewelcase.

    The frustrating part is as usual, I would probably not have this issue if I had a pirated doom 3....
    Last edited by Gps4l; 09-09-2013 at 06:41 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Hi.

    I recommend that you use the dhewm3 code which it's greatly improved over the official binary. Exact compiling instructions are on github. Note that I do not condone piracy, but removing the protection mechanism is truly trivial and you don't even need programming skills - start by grep'ing for "*******" (guess!) and use your basic knowledge of the English language. That being said, you should make sure that you typed in the cdkey correctly - it should be 18 characters long and not contain any spaces or dashes. If you still have problems, then you're better off talking to id's support team than random forum members.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xipeos View Post
    Hi.

    I recommend that you use the dhewm3 code which it's greatly improved over the official binary. Exact compiling instructions are on github. Note that I do not condone piracy, but removing the protection mechanism is truly trivial and you don't even need programming skills - start by grep'ing for "*******" (guess!) and use your basic knowledge of the English language. That being said, you should make sure that you typed in the cdkey correctly - it should be 18 characters long and not contain any spaces or dashes. If you still have problems, then you're better off talking to id's support team than random forum members.
    I have bought Doom 3 and roe through steam.

    The two keys I did find, steam\steam apps\common\doom 3 ( or something like that ) are only 16 characters long.
    I tried many times both keys, but the result is the same.

    I suspected that to be the problem, but why the keys in steam differ, from the ones on the jewelcases, is beyond me.

    I emailed support ( support04@bethsoft.com) and this is the answer I got:


    Hello

    This game does not support linux. Sorry for any inconvenience this has caused you. I suggest you just keep playing it on windows 7.

    best Regards
    Chris T

    So they basically don't want to help me.

    So the only options I have, play on windows or compile myself and take out the copy protection part.
    Or use some illegal stuff, which I do not think I have to specify, we all know they exist.

    I am tempted to answer this support email in a not very friendly manner, but that wont solve my problem.

    Thank for the link, I will have a look at it.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    .ro/.ca
    Posts
    232

    Default

    Are you sure you bought the original Doom 3, and not the BFG Edition? Doom 3's keys are 18 characters long, and your 16 char key won't get you anywhere, regardless of how many times you try it.

    IF you have BFG, then you need the BFG port, which was indeed never (officially or otherwise) supported on linux.

    As for id's support team, you should have told them that the cd key doesn't work without mentioning linux - the linux porter (ttimo) left that company some time ago.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Xipeos View Post
    Are you sure you bought the original Doom 3, and not the BFG Edition? Doom 3's keys are 18 characters long, and your 16 char key won't get you anywhere, regardless of how many times you try it.

    IF you have BFG, then you need the BFG port, which was indeed never (officially or otherwise) supported on linux.

    As for id's support team, you should have told them that the cd key doesn't work without mentioning linux - the linux porter (ttimo) left that company some time ago.
    Yes I am sure, the bfg was released shortly after I bought Doom 3.

    I always use google before I post a question. That when I found out that a regular doom 3 key is like XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-XXXX - XX

    The key in steam, (two text files) which you do not have to type in, are only 16 characters.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default

    Thanks to the doom forum, I found a simple solution.

    Do not look in the text files for the cd key, but look in steam for the cd key.

    The cd key steam shows, is two character longer.

    I just tried it, and it works.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    289

    Default

    An update.

    The source code version I used gave some sound issues.

    We're better of with this one.

    https://github.com/dhewm/dhewm3

    A short how too, I got this from an irc channel: ( I am on openSUSE, but his should work for other distro's too )

    Git clone whateverlink && cd dhewm3/neo && mkdir build && cd build && cmake .. && make && make install

    This is not as hard as it might look to some people, like it did to me.

    First you prob need to install git. (I did this through my package manager)

    Then on the comandline:
    Code:
    git clone https://github.com/dhewm/dhewm3.git
    You first need to check if you have all lib's ( and the devel files)

    Code:
       zlib
        libjpeg (minimum v6, v8 recommended)
        libogg
        libvorbis
        libvorbisfile (may be part of libvorbis)
        OpenAL (OpenAL Soft required, Creative's and Apple's versions are made of fail)
        SDL v1.2
        libcurl (optional, required for server downloads)
    When you use cmake ( I had to install that too ) it will tell you if you are still missing files, needed for compiling.
    ( I already had the libs, but not the devel files)

    After this copy the .pks files into place and you have to create a config file, or copy the one from windows.

    This is the text in the config file:
    Code:
    unbindall
    bind "TAB" "_impulse19"
    bind "ENTER" "_button2"
    bind "ESCAPE" "togglemenu"
    bind "SPACE" "_moveup"
    bind "/" "_impulse14"
    bind "0" "_impulse10"
    bind "1" "_impulse0"
    bind "2" "_impulse1"
    bind "3" "_impulse2"
    bind "4" "_impulse3"
    bind "5" "_impulse4"
    bind "6" "_impulse5"
    bind "7" "_impulse6"
    bind "8" "_impulse7"
    bind "9" "_impulse8"
    bind "[" "_impulse15"
    bind "\" "_mlook"
    bind "]" "_impulse14"
    bind "a" "_moveleft"
    bind "c" "_movedown"
    bind "d" "_moveright"
    bind "f" "_impulse11"
    bind "q" "_impulse9"
    bind "r" "_impulse13"
    bind "s" "_back"
    bind "t" "clientMessageMode"
    bind "w" "_forward"
    bind "y" "clientMessageMode 1"
    bind "z" "_zoom"
    bind "BACKSPACE" "clientDropWeapon"
    bind "PAUSE" "pause"
    bind "UPARROW" "_forward"
    bind "DOWNARROW" "_back"
    bind "LEFTARROW" "_left"
    bind "RIGHTARROW" "_right"
    bind "ALT" "_strafe"
    bind "CTRL" "_attack"
    bind "SHIFT" "_speed"
    bind "DEL" "_lookdown"
    bind "PGDN" "_lookup"
    bind "END" "_impulse18"
    bind "F1" "_impulse28"
    bind "F2" "_impulse29"
    bind "F3" "_impulse17"
    bind "F5" "savegame quick"
    bind "F6" "_impulse20"
    bind "F7" "_impulse22"
    bind "F9" "loadgame quick"
    bind "F12" "screenshot"
    bind "MOUSE1" "_attack"
    bind "MOUSE2" "_moveup"
    bind "MOUSE3" "_zoom"
    bind "MWHEELDOWN" "_impulse14"
    bind "MWHEELUP" "_impulse15"
    seta com_product_lang_ext "1"
    seta sv_punkbuster "0"
    seta cl_punkbuster "0"
    seta com_videoRam "64"
    seta com_showFPS "0"
    seta com_purgeAll "0"
    seta com_machineSpec "0"
    seta com_preloadDemos "0"
    seta com_compressDemos "1"
    seta m_strafeSmooth "4"
    seta m_smooth "1"
    seta m_strafeScale "6.25"
    seta m_yaw "0.022"
    seta m_pitch "0.022"
    seta sensitivity "3.301587"
    seta in_toggleZoom "0"
    seta in_toggleCrouch "0"
    seta in_toggleRun "0"
    seta in_alwaysRun "0"
    seta in_freeLook "1"
    seta in_anglespeedkey "1.5"
    seta in_pitchspeed "140"
    seta in_yawspeed "140"
    seta gui_configServerRate "0"
    seta com_guid "RbjwWnLrQcc"
    seta net_clientDownload "1"
    seta net_master4 ""
    seta net_master3 ""
    seta net_master2 ""
    seta net_master1 ""
    seta net_clientMaxRate "16000"
    seta net_serverMaxClientRate "16000"
    seta gui_filter_game "0"
    seta gui_filter_idle "0"
    seta gui_filter_gameType "0"
    seta gui_filter_players "0"
    seta gui_filter_password "0"
    seta image_downSizeLimit "256"
    seta image_ignoreHighQuality "1"
    seta image_downSizeBumpLimit "256"
    seta image_downSizeSpecularLimit "64"
    seta image_downSizeBump "1"
    seta image_downSizeSpecular "1"
    seta image_useCache "0"
    seta image_cacheMegs "20"
    seta image_cacheMinK "200"
    seta image_usePrecompressedTextures "1"
    seta image_useNormalCompression "2"
    seta image_useAllFormats "1"
    seta image_useCompression "1"
    seta image_preload "1"
    seta image_roundDown "1"
    seta image_forceDownSize "0"
    seta image_downSize "1"
    seta image_lodbias "0"
    seta image_anisotropy "0"
    seta image_filter "GL_LINEAR_MIPMAP_LINEAR"
    seta r_debugArrowStep "120"
    seta r_debugLineWidth "1"
    seta r_debugLineDepthTest "0"
    seta r_cgFragmentProfile "best"
    seta r_cgVertexProfile "best"
    seta r_forceLoadImages "0"
    seta r_shadows "1"
    seta r_skipBump "0"
    seta r_skipSpecular "0"
    seta r_skipNewAmbient "0"
    seta r_renderer "best"
    seta r_brightness "1"
    seta r_gamma "1"
    seta r_swapInterval "0"
    seta r_useIndexBuffers "0"
    seta r_customHeight "1050"
    seta r_customWidth "1680"
    seta r_fullscreen "1"
    seta r_mode "3"
    seta r_multiSamples "0"
    seta gui_mediumFontLimit "0.60"
    seta gui_smallFontLimit "0.30"
    seta s_libOpenAL "openal32.dll"
    seta s_numberOfSpeakers "6"
    seta s_doorDistanceAdd "150"
    seta s_globalFraction "0.8"
    seta s_subFraction "0.75"
    seta s_playDefaultSound "1"
    seta s_volume_dB "-3.809524"
    seta s_meterTopTime "2000"
    seta s_reverse "0"
    seta s_spatializationDecay "2"
    seta s_maxSoundsPerShader "1"
    seta sys_lang "english"
    seta sys_videoRam "0"
    seta in_dgamouse "1"
    seta in_mouse "1"
    seta s_dsp "/dev/dsp"
    seta s_driver "best"
    seta s_alsa_lib "libasound.so.2"
    seta s_alsa_pcm "default"
    seta g_decals "1"
    seta g_projectileLights "1"
    seta g_doubleVision "1"
    seta g_muzzleFlash "1"
    seta net_clientLagOMeter "1"
    seta g_spectatorChat "0"
    seta net_serverDlTable ""
    seta net_serverDlBaseURL ""
    seta net_serverDownload "0"
    seta mod_validSkins "skins/characters/player/marine_mp;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_green;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_blue;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_red;skins/characters/player/marine_mp_yellow"
    seta g_mapCycle "mapcycle"
    seta g_voteFlags "0"
    seta g_gameReviewPause "10"
    seta g_countDown "10"
    seta g_password ""
    seta g_showBrass "1"
    seta g_showProjectilePct "0"
    seta g_showHud "1"
    seta g_showPlayerShadow "0"
    seta g_showcamerainfo "0"
    seta g_healthTakeLimit "25"
    seta g_healthTakeAmt "5"
    seta g_healthTakeTime "5"
    seta g_useDynamicProtection "1"
    seta g_armorProtectionMP "0.6"
    seta g_armorProtection "0.3"
    seta g_damageScale "1"
    seta g_nightmare "0"
    seta g_bloodEffects "1"
    seta r_aspectRatio "2"
    seta ui_showGun "1"
    seta ui_autoReload "1"
    seta ui_autoSwitch "1"
    seta ui_team "Red"
    seta ui_skin "skins/characters/player/marine_mp"
    seta ui_name "Player"
    seta si_serverURL ""
    seta si_spectators "1"
    seta si_usePass "0"
    seta si_warmup "0"
    seta si_teamDamage "0"
    seta si_timeLimit "10"
    seta si_fragLimit "10"
    seta si_maxPlayers "4"
    seta si_map "game/mp/d3dm1"
    seta si_gameType "singleplayer"
    seta si_name "DOOM Server"
    You might have to change a few lines according to your set up, namely:
    Code:
    seta r_customHeight "1050"
    seta r_customWidth "1680"
    seta r_fullscreen "1"
    seta r_mode "3"
    What to put in those lines ?
    http://forums.steampowered.com/forum....php?t=1402252

    The file are named:
    DoomConfig.cfg
    default.cfg

    You prob need only one of them, but I do not one which one, so I have copied to the text into both files.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •