Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 31

Thread: Intel 3.0 Linux Driver To Enable SNA, Support XMir

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    15,138

    Default Intel 3.0 Linux Driver To Enable SNA, Support XMir

    Phoronix: Intel 3.0 Linux Driver To Enable SNA, Support XMir

    Chris Wilson has tagged the xf86-video-intel 2.99.901 open-source Intel Linux hardware graphics driver today after making two significant changes: SNA will become the default 2D acceleration method and Canonical's XMir is now supported by the mainline driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ1MzU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Posts
    50

    Default

    INB4: If anyone starts shit about Wayland vs. Mir then Evil Mark S. will kill 1k qt kittens!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,459

    Default

    Wayland rules, Mir droolz.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    United Kingdom
    Posts
    54

    Default

    I gave up using SNA not that long ago because there were just too many things rendered badly / glitchy / corrupt (on GM45).

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Siekacz View Post
    INB4: If anyone starts shit about Wayland vs. Mir then Evil Mark S. will kill 1k qt kittens!
    I'm allergic to cats, so kill away. Eagerly awaiting full Wayland support in Arch.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    90

    Default

    On a more serious note. Good to see Intel supporting XMir, even if it is a stopgap technology.

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ejs1920 View Post
    I gave up using SNA not that long ago because there were just too many things rendered badly / glitchy / corrupt (on GM45).
    It's just your GPU is broken. Sorry.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Location
    Kingston, Jamaica
    Posts
    316

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dee. View Post
    Wayland rules, Mir droolz.
    So insightful!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,459

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jayrulez View Post
    So insightful!
    Thanks! I try my best.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    930

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ickle View Post
    It's just your GPU is broken. Sorry.
    I guess this refers to this bug?

    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=55500

    And there is no realistic hope that you'll eventually find a
    cure by means of an undocumented GPU setup?

    What is the usual way for the OTC developers in such a case:
    Do you directly talk to the intel CPU/GPU design team about those peculiarities?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •