Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: SimpleDRM Driver Published Ahead Of Linux 3.12

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,548

    Default SimpleDRM Driver Published Ahead Of Linux 3.12

    Phoronix: SimpleDRM Driver Published Ahead Of Linux 3.12

    The SimpleDRM driver has been revised ahead of the Linux 3.12 kernel merge window. This simple DRM/KMS driver that's generic has been around for a few months now and David Herrmann is hoping it will be reviewed and ready in time...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQ1MTM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,021

    Default

    I hope the BSD ports this, then they can benefit from KMS too.

    How does SimpleDRM compare against vesafb, efifb, simplefb, and vgafb in terms of features, functionality and performance?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Is the SimpleDRM work an evolution/derivative of the VBE DRM driver (http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive.../034058.html)?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyler_K View Post
    Is the SimpleDRM work an evolution/derivative of the VBE DRM driver (http://lists.freedesktop.org/archive.../034058.html)?
    And the answer is: Yes ... should have followed the Phoronix link fest in the first place:
    The SimpleDRM driver is the new name for his simple/generic DRM graphics driver. The driver was formerly known as the DVBE driver in his first version but renamed it as SimpleDRM, isnce it's supposed to be the most basic Direct Rendering Manager driver.
    (Source: http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?pag...tem&px=MTM5NDc)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,034

    Default

    The docs got more unclear with this compared to the previous cut linked above. The Kconfig option should still say the resolution is set with vga= for vesa systems.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,873

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    The docs got more unclear with this compared to the previous cut linked above. The Kconfig option should still say the resolution is set with vga= for vesa systems.
    Maybe they just forgot to update the docs? *shrugs* File a bug report about it

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,034

    Default

    Bug report for unmerged code, eh?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •