Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
Results 71 to 79 of 79

Thread: radeon-profile: tool for changing profiles and monitoring some GPU parameters

  1. #71
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    492

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lelele View Post
    Is there a way for this to not be run as root aka sudo?
    You get everything working except module infos if you run this at/after startup once:

    Code:
    chmod o+rx /sys/kernel/debug/
    chmod o+r /sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info
    chmod o+w /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_method
    chmod o+w /sys/class/drm/card0/device/power_profile
    you may have to adjust the paths.

  2. #72
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bushido_root View Post
    Was curious and wanted to try it myself, but with failed installation attempts :V

    Code:
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~$ cd '/home/x/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile' 
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile$ qmake-qt4 && make
    /usr/bin/uic-qt4 radeon_profile.ui -o ui_radeon_profile.h
    make: /usr/bin/uic-qt4: Command not found
    make: *** [ui_radeon_profile.h] Error 127
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile$ `qmake-qt4 && make`
    make: /usr/bin/uic-qt4: Command not found
    make: *** [ui_radeon_profile.h] Error 127
    bash: /usr/bin/uic-qt4: No such file or directory
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile$ qmake-qt4
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile$ make
    /usr/bin/uic-qt4 radeon_profile.ui -o ui_radeon_profile.h
    make: /usr/bin/uic-qt4: Command not found
    make: *** [ui_radeon_profile.h] Error 127
    x@Akaigo-Arc:~/Repositories/radeon-profile-master/radeon-profile$
    I have qmake-qt4 installed.

    What am I doing wrong?

    EDIT: Oh nvm, was missing some deps for qt4 >_>
    EDIT: Pretty handy tool~ Oh and if 'profiles' tab is greyed out, that mean that there are no profiles for me to set?
    Can you please advise which deps were missing? I lost myself trying to make things working.... thank you!

  3. #73
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3

    Question complitation terminated...

    what am i doing missing? :
    ~/radeon/radeon-profile$ qmake-qt4 && make
    g++ -c -m64 -pipe -O2 -Wall -W -D_REENTRANT -DQT_NO_DEBUG -DQT_GUI_LIB -DQT_CORE_LIB -I/usr/share/qt4/mkspecs/linux-g++-64 -I. -I/usr/include/qt4/QtCore -I/usr/include/qt4/QtGui -I/usr/include/qt4 -I. -I. -o main.o main.cpp
    In file included from main.cpp:1:0:
    radeon_profile.h:4:23: fatal error: QMainWindow: No such file or directory
    #include <QMainWindow>
    ^
    compilation terminated.
    make: *** [main.o] Error 1

  4. #74
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Try install libqt4-dev package.

  5. #75
    Join Date
    Mar 2014
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by marazmista View Post
    Try install libqt4-dev package.
    Done! Thank you!

  6. #76
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi.
    I decided to merge branch, where I was reorganizing what is going on under the hood. App now support Catalyst (fglrx driver), can read clocks and temperature. This was done by request (https://github.com/marazmista/radeon-profile/issues/6) but thanks to that and how code looks now, there is an easy way to implement other drivers. I already booted livecd on pc with Haswell graphic and looked inside the files. Turns out, the only valuable info was current gpu clock, so I don't know how to approach this and don't know what nice stuff can be performed with this gpu. Maybe people with hybrid graphic would want to have Intel GPU support. In nVidia case, I saw nvidia-setting screens so I think there is no point in implementing closed source driver but maybe nouveau?
    Anyway, next step is creating a daemon which provide functions that can't be done by regular use, and UI working in normal user mode, so there will be possible to add new features.

  7. #77
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Hi again.
    Finally, I managed to make radeon-profile work with system daemon and now the gui can be run as normal user with all its features. Of course, if daemon will be not installed in system, app will work in old way (requiring root privileges for full functionality).

  8. #78
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,100

    Default

    Good to know that it's still seeing activity. I use this on all my machines.

  9. #79
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Poland
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Another update. I added Exec tab, where user can set environment variables and run apps with these settings. Most of variables I took from http://www.mesa3d.org/envvars.html, but I am aware that there is more useful variables regarding graphics not listed there, so don't hesitate to suggest some useful variables and I will append it to list.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •