Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 89

Thread: How To Setup Radeon DPM On Ubuntu Linux

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,566

    Default How To Setup Radeon DPM On Ubuntu Linux

    Phoronix: How To Setup Radeon DPM On Ubuntu Linux

    With the belief that the Radeon dynamic power management (DPM) support is in good shape, it's a great time to try out this feature of the open-source AMD Linux graphics driver. DPM has the capability of increasing the performance for some Radeon GPUs while for other GPUs it will lead to lower power consumption, extended battery life, and lower operating temperatures...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQyNDE

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    13

    Talking How do you boot to radeon garaphics drivers?

    I installed ubuntu 13.10 daily, just to test radeon drivers. I have a dual graphics hardware (Intel/AMD). If someone has AMD cards on new intel hardware, they all have this setup. I installed 3.11rc1 kernel, enabled x-org ppa (at that time mesa was at version 9.1, if I remember it correctly). When I tried to boot with radeon.dpm=1 option, it clearly showed the missing firmware error.

    I don't know if linux-firmware-nonfree would fix the missing driver problem, but I found the link where the radeon binaries were hosted (yes it was same as mentioned in the post). So I downloaded the binary drivers (using wget), copied them to /lib/firmware/radeon. After that I had to update initramfs ( else same error would come up), and rebooted. Previous error message was gone, but a black screen would come and stop there.

    Even, if I boot with intel cards (without radeon.dpm=1), I cannot switch to AMD (same black screen would come) and I have to reboot.

    Is there a way to boot directly into AMD graphics cards in a hybrid setup (using radeon drivers). Something like in windows (i.e using catalyst per application basis) is an ideal solution. However, if I could directly boot into AMD cards (with radeon drivers), and if it was good enough, I would give up catalyst driver, without second thought (despite some performance penalty).
    Last edited by xpressrazor; 07-30-2013 at 01:21 PM.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,537

    Default

    I don't suppose there are any plans to have DPM backported to 3.10 in gentoo-sources any time soon, right? Probably will have to wait until the final 3.11 gets released... Can't wait to get rid of uvesafb on one netbook I'm maintaining.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    There doesn't seem to be any ARUBA_smc.bin. Any ideas?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    212

    Default

    The problem with the firmware is something temporary or it will fixed?

    If this problem isnt temporary, there will be never out of the box DPM enablement.

    Am i right?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrugiero View Post
    There doesn't seem to be any ARUBA_smc.bin. Any ideas?
    APUs don't need smc ucode.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,341

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by verde View Post
    The problem with the firmware is something temporary or it will fixed?

    If this problem isnt temporary, there will be never out of the box DPM enablement.

    Am i right?
    What problem are you asking about? You need smc ucode for power management. The hardware doesn't work without it.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    APUs don't need smc ucode.
    Right, my bad, I thought of it as an IGP instead of an APU. Thanks.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mrugiero View Post
    Right, my bad, I thought of it as an IGP instead of an APU. Thanks.
    Wait, why don't they need it, again?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    1,287

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
    Wait, why don't they need it, again?
    I have no idea, but the article is clear in that "graphics cards" need the firmware update. This evidently doesn't include APUs.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •