Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 60

Thread: Radeon DPM Support Should Now Be In Good Shape

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    969

    Default

    Intel + Radeon works well with randr. What doesn't work with 3.11rc2 and rc3 is vgaswitcheroo. At least for me.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Not to belittle the wonderful dpm work, but has there been any progress made on the UVD for RS780/880 front?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    790

    Default

    I think regarding RS780 UVD support, this post from Deathsimple is still valid.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    653

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    This is amazing!
    The open source AMD drivers are shaping up!
    I can't wait until they rival the proprietary drivers.
    Then why not make a donation towards that goal:
    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...365#post346365

    To clarify, not only will I match your donation, but I will also make one my self. The least you could do is respond with why you do not want to donate.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    1,994

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AJenbo View Post
    Then why not make a donation towards that goal:
    http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...365#post346365

    To clarify, not only will I match your donation, but I will also make one my self. The least you could do is respond with why you do not want to donate.
    I don't want to donate there, because I "donate" every single time I buy AMD hardware.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    981

    Default

    Will the Radeon DPM support be made default by the time Linux 3.11 is given its final release or will that have to wait until a later Kernel version?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hamish Wilson View Post
    Will the Radeon DPM support be made default by the time Linux 3.11 is given its final release or will that have to wait until a later Kernel version?
    This kernel version (3.11) it will be disabled by default. Being available to enable on a stable kernel release means that anybody that uses a distro which ships that kernel will be able to test out the code easily with only needing to enable a boot parameter. It's very likely it will be enabled by default in 3.12 though.

    Still though only one kernel cycle is not a whole lot of testing.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    969

    Default

    Aaand with the latest update, vgaswitcheroo works again. I think.

    Thanks.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Posts
    22

    Default

    Uh, temperatures with DPM (3.11rc3) on my 5870 during idle are 10C higher than with Catalyst on Windows and the the "low" profile of the previous power_method. Anybody know what's up?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    134

    Default

    I think DPM doesn't work well.
    Just look GPU clock 10 times per seccond and divide by ten
    After using computer for a while
    Power state of my GPU HD6850 is like that:

    P0: 703 Seconds
    P1: 119 Seconds
    P2: 9372 Seconds !!!

    Means more than %90 of the time, my GPU is in High power state.

    Indeed with latest Mesa and sitting on Idle state on my GTK3 desktop Power State switching P0 to P2 without apparent reason.

    I watch with my GPU with readeontop and don't see any bottleneck on my GPU. There are no use but power state jumps to P2.

    I think power switching algorithm need some tune up.

    Edit: You can inspect your GPU power states with this Python script
    Code:
    #!/usr/bin/env python
    import time
    a=[0,0,0]
    while 1:
       time.sleep(0.1)
       state=open('/sys/kernel/debug/dri/0/radeon_pm_info').read()
       x=int(state[state.find('power level')+12])
       if x >=0 and x <=2:
          a[x]+=1
       else:
          print state
       print "P0:",a[0]/10 ,"P1:", a[1]/10, "P2:", a[2]/10
    Last edited by Death Knight; 08-01-2013 at 01:10 PM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •