Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 44

Thread: Radeon Power Management Gets More Fixes For 3.11

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    215

    Default

    I am not that excited (with the DPM) about recent AMD GPUs as long as they have the FGLRX option for modern performance and power management.

    But it is FANTASTIC for owners with Radeon 4000 Series and below with the abandoned support from AMD proprietary drivers.

    Laptops with such GPUs suffered from heat and power management and especially for laptops and mobile devices power management is the most important.

    Also I would like to see the performance impact (if any) on older hardware. I have a Multimedia PC on my TV with old hardware (Radeon 2600PRO 512) and now with Steam i would like to be able to play the L4D2 or TF2 on low settings.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by verde View Post
    Also I would like to see the performance impact (if any) on older hardware. I have a Multimedia PC on my TV with old hardware (Radeon 2600PRO 512) and now with Steam i would like to be able to play the L4D2 or TF2 on low settings.
    Most of the older hardware defaulted to high clocks, so if your system had sufficient cooling to run at those high clocks then I wouldn't expect a performance gain. If you were running at low or mid profile to keep the GPU cool, however, then dpm should let your hardware adjust clocks up when needed for performance and down the rest of the time.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    204

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Most of the older hardware defaulted to high clocks, so if your system had sufficient cooling to run at those high clocks then I wouldn't expect a performance gain. If you were running at low or mid profile to keep the GPU cool, however, then dpm should let your hardware adjust clocks up when needed for performance and down the rest of the time.
    I pulled out my 8400GS temporarily to try out the new dpm coding against my towers IGP HD4200. DPM didn't seem to like it and it wasn't upping my clocks at all. I did noticed that DPM uses 3 different profiles (power save, balanced, performance), so I tried setting performance and for some reason I was getting about 15 FPS loss against using Profile/High.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    athens , cholargos
    Posts
    8

    Default

    seems the last patches fixed my 6850.

    4.999083] device class 'drm': registering
    [ 4.999105] [drm] Initialized drm 1.1.0 20060810
    [ 5.222933] [drm] radeon kernel modesetting enabled.
    [ 5.281468] [drm] initializing kernel modesetting (BARTS 0x1002:0x6739 0x174B:0x174B).
    [ 5.281705] [drm] register mmio base: 0xFBFC0000
    [ 5.281835] [drm] register mmio size: 131072
    [ 5.284132] [drm] Detected VRAM RAM=1024M, BAR=256M
    [ 5.284262] [drm] RAM width 256bits DDR
    [ 5.289035] [drm] radeon: 1024M of VRAM memory ready
    [ 5.289169] [drm] radeon: 512M of GTT memory ready.
    [ 5.399757] [drm] GART: num cpu pages 131072, num gpu pages 131072
    [ 5.400752] [drm] enabling PCIE gen 2 link speeds, disable with radeon.pcie_gen2=0
    [ 5.401049] [drm] Loading BARTS Microcode
    [ 5.655677] [drm] PCIE GART of 512M enabled (table at 0x0000000000273000).
    [ 5.656698] [drm] Supports vblank timestamp caching Rev 1 (10.10.2010).
    [ 5.656827] [drm] Driver supports precise vblank timestamp query.
    [ 5.657195] [drm] radeon: irq initialized.
    [ 5.673762] [drm] ring test on 0 succeeded in 2 usecs
    [ 5.673957] [drm] ring test on 3 succeeded in 1 usecs
    [ 5.860332] [drm] ring test on 5 succeeded in 1 usecs
    [ 5.860475] [drm] UVD initialized successfully.
    [ 5.860729] [drm] Enabling audio support
    [ 5.860924] [drm] ib test on ring 0 succeeded in 0 usecs
    [ 5.861109] [drm] ib test on ring 3 succeeded in 0 usecs
    [ 6.013809] [drm] ib test on ring 5 succeeded
    [ 6.014937] [drm] Radeon Display Connectors
    [ 6.015065] [drm] Connector 0:
    [ 6.015226] [drm] DP-1
    [ 6.015354] [drm] HPD4
    [ 6.015483] [drm] DDC: 0x6430 0x6430 0x6434 0x6434 0x6438 0x6438 0x643c 0x643c
    [ 6.015689] [drm] Encoders:
    [ 6.015819] [drm] DFP1: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
    [ 6.015940] [drm] Connector 1:
    [ 6.016060] [drm] HDMI-A-1
    [ 6.016187] [drm] HPD3
    [ 6.016316] [drm] DDC: 0x6460 0x6460 0x6464 0x6464 0x6468 0x6468 0x646c 0x646c
    [ 6.016514] [drm] Encoders:
    [ 6.016641] [drm] DFP2: INTERNAL_UNIPHY2
    [ 6.016780] [drm] Connector 2:
    [ 6.016901] [drm] DVI-I-1
    [ 6.017024] [drm] HPD6
    [ 6.017145] [drm] DDC: 0x6470 0x6470 0x6474 0x6474 0x6478 0x6478 0x647c 0x647c
    [ 6.017345] [drm] Encoders:
    [ 6.017466] [drm] DFP3: INTERNAL_UNIPHY
    [ 6.017592] [drm] CRT1: INTERNAL_KLDSCP_DAC1
    [ 6.017715] [drm] Connector 3:
    [ 6.017837] [drm] DVI-D-1
    [ 6.017961] [drm] HPD1
    [ 6.018082] [drm] DDC: 0x6480 0x6480 0x6484 0x6484 0x6488 0x6488 0x648c 0x648c
    [ 6.018283] [drm] Encoders:
    [ 6.018405] [drm] DFP4: INTERNAL_UNIPHY1
    [ 6.018631] [drm] Internal thermal controller with fan control
    [ 6.033814] [drm] radeon: dpm initialized
    [ 6.115285] [drm] fb mappable at 0xD0375000
    [ 6.116318] [drm] vram apper at 0xD0000000
    [ 6.116378] [drm] size 8294400
    [ 6.116438] [drm] fb depth is 24
    [ 6.116497] [drm] pitch is 7680
    [ 6.116612] fbcon: radeondrmfb (fb0) is primary device
    [ 6.250000] radeon 0000:03:00.0: fb0: radeondrmfb frame buffer device
    [ 6.250007] [drm] Initialized radeon 2.34.0 20080528 for 0000:03:00.0 on minor 0

    884.315647] ui class: performance
    [ 884.315649] internal class: none
    [ 884.315651] caps:
    [ 884.315653] uvd vclk: 0 dclk: 0
    [ 884.315655] power level 0 sclk: 10000 mclk: 15000 vddc: 950 vddci: 950
    [ 884.315657] power level 1 sclk: 60000 mclk: 100000 vddc: 1100 vddci: 1100
    [ 884.315659] power level 2 sclk: 77500 mclk: 100000 vddc: 1150 vddci: 1100
    [ 884.315660] status: c
    [ 884.315661] switching to power state:
    [ 884.315662] ui class: none
    [ 884.315663] internal class: uvd
    [ 884.315665] caps: video
    [ 884.315666] uvd vclk: 54000 dclk: 40000
    [ 884.315668] power level 0 sclk: 30000 mclk: 100000 vddc: 950 vddci: 1100
    [ 884.315669] power level 1 sclk: 30000 mclk: 100000 vddc: 950 vddci: 1100
    [ 884.315671] power level 2 sclk: 77500 mclk: 100000 vddc: 1150 vddci: 1100
    [ 884.315672] status: r

    03:00.1 Audio device: Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Barts HDMI Audio [Radeon HD 6800 Series]
    Subsystem: PC Partner Limited Device aa88
    Control: I/O+ Mem+ BusMaster+ SpecCycle- MemWINV- VGASnoop- ParErr- Stepping- SERR+ FastB2B- DisINTx+
    Status: Cap+ 66MHz- UDF- FastB2B- ParErr- DEVSEL=fast >TAbort- <TAbort- <MAbort- >SERR+ <PERR- INTx-
    Latency: 0, Cache Line Size: 64 bytes
    Interrupt: pin B routed to IRQ 43
    Region 0: Memory at fbffc000 (64-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16K]
    Capabilities: [50] Power Management version 3
    Flags: PMEClk- DSI- D1+ D2+ AuxCurrent=0mA PME(D0-,D1-,D2-,D3hot-,D3cold-)
    Status: D0 NoSoftRst- PME-Enable- DSel=0 DScale=0 PME-
    Capabilities: [58] Express (v2) Legacy Endpoint, MSI 00
    DevCap: MaxPayload 256 bytes, PhantFunc 0, Latency L0s <4us, L1 unlimited
    ExtTag+ AttnBtn- AttnInd- PwrInd- RBE+ FLReset-
    DevCtl: Report errors: Correctable- Non-Fatal- Fatal- Unsupported-
    RlxdOrd+ ExtTag- PhantFunc- AuxPwr- NoSnoop+
    MaxPayload 128 bytes, MaxReadReq 512 bytes
    DevSta: CorrErr+ UncorrErr+ FatalErr- UnsuppReq+ AuxPwr- TransPend-
    LnkCap: Port #0, Speed 5GT/s, Width x16, ASPM L0s L1, Latency L0 <64ns, L1 <1us
    ClockPM- Surprise- LLActRep- BwNot-
    LnkCtl: ASPM Disabled; RCB 64 bytes Disabled- Retrain- CommClk+
    ExtSynch- ClockPM- AutWidDis- BWInt- AutBWInt-
    LnkSta: Speed 5GT/s, Width x16, TrErr- Train- SlotClk+ DLActive- BWMgmt- ABWMgmt-
    DevCap2: Completion Timeout: Not Supported, TimeoutDis-, LTR-, OBFF Not Supported
    DevCtl2: Completion Timeout: 50us to 50ms, TimeoutDis-, LTR-, OBFF Disabled
    LnkSta2: Current De-emphasis Level: -3.5dB, EqualizationComplete-, EqualizationPhase1-
    EqualizationPhase2-, EqualizationPhase3-, LinkEqualizationRequest-
    Capabilities: [a0] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
    Address: 00000000fee0f00c Data: 41c1
    Capabilities: [100 v1] Vendor Specific Information: ID=0001 Rev=1 Len=010 <?>
    Capabilities: [150 v1] Advanced Error Reporting
    UESta: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq+ ACSViol-
    UEMsk: DLP- SDES- TLP- FCP- CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF- MalfTLP- ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
    UESvrt: DLP+ SDES+ TLP- FCP+ CmpltTO- CmpltAbrt- UnxCmplt- RxOF+ MalfTLP+ ECRC- UnsupReq- ACSViol-
    CESta: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
    CEMsk: RxErr- BadTLP- BadDLLP- Rollover- Timeout- NonFatalErr+
    AERCap: First Error Pointer: 14, GenCap+ CGenEn- ChkCap+ ChkEn-
    Kernel driver in use: snd_hda_intel
    Kernel modules: snd_hda_intel

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    I always wonder:

    Quote Originally Posted by Phoronix Article
    - The radeon.aspm=0 kernel module parameter has been introduced for disabling ASPM support. PCI Express Active-State Power Management (PCI-E ASPM) was added for the open Radeon driver as part of the DPM changes, but for certain motherboards it will lead to hangs. For those that remember the ASPM power issues Phoronix uncovered in years prior, this shouldn't be a big surprise, but now if you're hitting hangs there is this workaround.
    Why is Windows not suffering from these kind of issue's?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    24

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by verde View Post
    I am not that excited (with the DPM) about recent AMD GPUs as long as they have the FGLRX option for modern performance and power management.
    I disagree. The power management on Radeon is apparently very comparable to that of FGLRX now. The performance is still not acceptable for "real" gamers, but for many people it's more than enough.

    Also, many laptop users needed to install FGLRX (and therefore sacrificing stability) simply because of heating and fan issues. The DPM seems to solve that. And I doubt many laptop/netbook users are going to be doing much gaming.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rexilion View Post
    Why is Windows not suffering from these kind of issue's?
    It's mostly there for debugging since we introduced two new independent features at the same time. The only board where I've seen issues with ASPM so far was an internal engineering sample board. For windows we generally work directly with the OEM at a platform level so everything is validated.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by agd5f View Post
    It's mostly there for debugging since we introduced two new independent features at the same time. The only board where I've seen issues with ASPM so far was an internal engineering sample board. For windows we generally work directly with the OEM at a platform level so everything is validated.
    Hey, Alex, complete random off the wall question.... Is cloned outputs harder on an AMD GPU than single output, or no difference? I've got a laptop running Win7 that I use for netflix, gaming media center, etc. The laptop's fscked up so its basically just a shell, cuz I've got an HDMI cable running to a TV and a usb mouse and keyboard that I use from afar. The outputs (laptop screen and hdmi out) are cloned, not extended. Does the GPU care? Like is it rendering the scene twice, or is it rendering once and just submitted the buffer to two outputs?

    Just wondering if it matters to decide whether or not I should go into Catalyst Control and turn off the LVDS output (for the sake of frame-rate and power consumption of the GPU), or just leave it on.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    312

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Newfie View Post
    I disagree. The power management on Radeon is apparently very comparable to that of FGLRX now. The performance is still not acceptable for "real" gamers, but for many people it's more than enough.

    Also, many laptop users needed to install FGLRX (and therefore sacrificing stability) simply because of heating and fan issues. The DPM seems to solve that. And I doubt many laptop/netbook users are going to be doing much gaming.
    To my taste, AMD did a great improvement in both areas lately. They both got a decent power management and then MESA 9.2 also faster in many workloads. Also UVD decode support. A really noteworthy amount of improvements. So in fact everyone except most hardcore gamers would be fine with opensource drivers and generally these are far more stable than fglrx and never cause prob's with install/deinstall, system updates, etc, etc. Well done!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ericg View Post
    Hey, Alex, complete random off the wall question.... Is cloned outputs harder on an AMD GPU than single output, or no difference? I've got a laptop running Win7 that I use for netflix, gaming media center, etc. The laptop's fscked up so its basically just a shell, cuz I've got an HDMI cable running to a TV and a usb mouse and keyboard that I use from afar. The outputs (laptop screen and hdmi out) are cloned, not extended. Does the GPU care? Like is it rendering the scene twice, or is it rendering once and just submitted the buffer to two outputs?

    Just wondering if it matters to decide whether or not I should go into Catalyst Control and turn off the LVDS output (for the sake of frame-rate and power consumption of the GPU), or just leave it on.
    Display controllers are like pointers. They point to a location in vram and read what's there, so there's no additional rendering required for cloned displays, but each additional display controller uses power and the more display controllers that are active, the more contention there is for memory bandwidth in the GPU. It's pretty much the same situation regardless of the vendor.
    Last edited by agd5f; 07-21-2013 at 09:27 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •