Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 36

Thread: Playing With GTK/Qt5/SDL/EFL On Wayland 1.2

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digit View Post
    I can only see login/logout/restart and other session management buttons, no visible way of launching an app.
    Same here. Running on nouveau (GeForce 560Ti).

  2. #12
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digit View Post
    I can only see login/logout/restart and other session management buttons, no visible way of launching an app.
    It looks to me the autologin didn't work? Weston should switch the tty?
    Can you try to switch ttys? Go to tty1 and then tty10, that's usually the tty that the autologin session actually appears on.

    Try running
    Code:
    ps -A | grep weston
    in tty1 too. how many weston-display-servers do you see?

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    457

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    What kind of hardware do you have? Intel? Nvidia?
    The autologin calls up a second weston server on a new tty.
    I have nVidia as well, so it's nouveau (I guess?). I think we are all having the same issue here. Do you want more feedback?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Rexilion View Post
    I have nVidia as well, so it's nouveau (I guess?). I think we are all having the same issue here. Do you want more feedback?
    Can you please try what I asked Digit to do? http://phoronix.com/forums/showthrea...536#post342536
    Thanks.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    It looks to me the autologin didn't work? Weston should switch the tty?
    Can you try to switch ttys? Go to tty1 and then tty10, that's usually the tty that the autologin session actually appears on.

    Try running
    Code:
    ps -A | grep weston
    in tty1 too. how many weston-display-servers do you see?
    Nothing, just the options we were talking about in tty8.

    Just one weston-display-server (and one weston-keyboard, weston-desktop)

    R,

  6. #16
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digit View Post
    Nothing, just the options we were talking about in tty8.

    Just one weston-display-server (and one weston-keyboard, weston-desktop)

    R,
    Hi.

    I found the issue. It's a Kernel Mode setting permissions issue with /dev/dri/card*
    Most of my testing was done on VirtualBox, so the Framebuffer part got a better testing then.
    Anyway it seems that with the fact that the permissions on the file is supposed to be granted by console-kit or the login manager, so I made a commit to add the plugdev users group permissions to access that file similar to the way I do it to /dev/fb*.

    I don't know if there's a more secure way to do this, as any local user that can log in will be able to see /dev/dri/card0

    I'm really sorry about this. I guess I should push a new ISO with the fix.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    Hi.

    I found the issue. It's a Kernel Mode setting permissions issue with /dev/dri/card*
    Most of my testing was done on VirtualBox, so the Framebuffer part got a better testing then.
    Anyway it seems that with the fact that the permissions on the file is supposed to be granted by console-kit or the login manager, so I made a commit to add the plugdev users group permissions to access that file similar to the way I do it to /dev/fb*.

    I don't know if there's a more secure way to do this, as any local user that can log in will be able to see /dev/dri/card0
    Yes, after changing the permissions of that file, the session launched fine


    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    I'm really sorry about this. I guess I should push a new ISO with the fix.
    Yeah, I want my money back

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,065

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Digit View Post
    Yeah, I want my money back
    It's already returned, didn't you notice?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    159

    Default

    The new ISOs with the permission fix are up
    https://sourceforge.net/projects/reb...2014th%202013/

  10. #20
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    760

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by nerdopolis View Post
    ...I don't know if there's a more secure way to do this, as any local user that can log in will be able to see /dev/dri/card0 ...
    I think security, while important in itself, in this case should be the last of your worries. People running your distro just wanna play with Wayland, see how it works, period. Thanks for your hard work.

    Edit: Just to clarify, if you need to sacrifice security to make Wayland work better - go for it.
    Last edited by mark45; 07-15-2013 at 02:23 AM.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •