Page 7 of 9 FirstFirst ... 56789 LastLast
Results 61 to 70 of 83

Thread: RHEL 7 Linux To Use GNOME 3 Classic Mode

  1. #61

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    Hallelujah! It's obvious this mantra of letting the employees do whatever they want doesn't work.
    Yes, it's clearly a terrible way to run a company.

  2. #62

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AdamW View Post
    You're getting your terms wrong (and I think a lot of people are confused about this, so getting it wrong only makes that worse).

    The thing that existed prior to 3.8 was never called 'classic'. It was called 'fallback mode'. 'Classic Mode' is the new thing in 3.8 that replaces fallback mode. It did not exist prior to 3.8. That is what RHEL 7 is using, *not* 'fallback mode'.
    The problem is that some distributions *cough* Ubuntu *cough* renamed fallback mode to classic mode and when GNOME 3.8 was announced with classic mode, it has confused those users.

  3. #63

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RahulSundaram View Post
    The problem is that some distributions *cough* Ubuntu *cough* renamed fallback mode to classic mode and when GNOME 3.8 was announced with classic mode, it has confused those users.
    Ahh, I was not aware of that.

  4. #64
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    112

    Default

    I'm really curious about the version they're gonna use. Classic is a really recent feature (3.8) and I'd expect RHEL to use something more mature (even if it's just a bunch of extensions). Apart from that I haven't seen any planned improvements on classic for 3.10.

  5. #65

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kostas View Post
    I'm really curious about the version they're gonna use. Classic is a really recent feature (3.8) and I'd expect RHEL to use something more mature (even if it's just a bunch of extensions). Apart from that I haven't seen any planned improvements on classic for 3.10.
    Those individual extensions that classic is made up have existed long before classic was even announced and continue to get several bugfixes and minor enhancements. Regardless of the version that EL 7 includes, they backport a number of fixes as deemed necessary.

  6. #66
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    south east
    Posts
    344

    Default And hopefully Suse will save us all

    .,Two topics,.

    First, someone mentioned many of the classic Window Managers are stuck on Windows 95 paradymes. Unfortunately, Gnome 3 is stuck on Windows 7 paradymes.
    But even Windows 7 has a fallback to Classic Windows 95 mode. I would hardly call the Classic mode in Gnome 3 functional. I tend to have to tweak it heavily.

    GTK 3 is a deadend, even GTK 2 was starting to become shoddy with features being depricated like the menu tear-offs. (GVim)

    -._, These are only MY opinions ,_.-
    -' '-

    I think Gnome 3 's next feature should be a Charms bar. Sarcasm intended.

  7. #67
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    353

    Default

    Gnome was a windows clone. Period. The same way GNU was a Unix clone. Just look at this in 2004. It's like a bad joke.

    http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedi...ome-2.6-en.png

    At least now there are blazing their own path with the extreme use of workspaces.

  8. #68
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,262

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by squirrl View Post
    Unfortunately, Gnome 3 is stuck on Windows 7 paradymes.
    No, not at all. GS is very flexible and a “Win7 mode” is achievable through extensions (basically what the article is about).
    That flexibility alone means that GS underwent a paradigm shift.

    It's similar with KDE’s Plasma: Plasma Desktop is configured by default to look and feel somewhat traditionally but in essence Plasma is a bucket of Legos that can be arranged is very different ways.

    No version of Windows has yet been implemented that way. Even in Win8 the two shells (“Metro” and classic desktop) share next to no technology.

  9. #69
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    south east
    Posts
    344

    Default

    I forgot to mention about the CTRL + ALT + Right-Click on the panels.

    Who's idea was that? Right-Click always worked fine. Even Ubuntu maintains this idiocracy.

    Anyway,

    Thank goodness that individuals in the community still maintain Gnome 2 and KDE 3.5.

    Just a little history:>

    Arch, Slackware, Suse, Ubuntu, ... All pressed forward to include KDE 4 and later Gnome Shell (not slackware though).
    But ultimately the one's that made statements about how they would not include it eventually did.
    Which brings up the argument of how Linux distributions follow the trends and not the concensious.
    For ever 10 complaints there will be one zealot who is indoctrinated.

    Later

  10. #70
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    304

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by squirrl View Post
    I forgot to mention about the CTRL + ALT + Right-Click on the panels.

    Who's idea was that? Right-Click always worked fine. Even Ubuntu maintains this idiocracy.
    There are right-click when selecting an application on the panel. Recently, Gnome Shell 3.8 gained right click on displayed background.
    I verified your claim about Ctrl+Alt+Right-Click in Gnome Shell, there is no such shortcut unless it is custom made.

    Using either gnome-tweak-tool or dconf-editor, you can restore the traditional right-click by setting "Have File Manager handling the desktop" through Desktop Tab. That functionality exists since the first 3.0 release of Gnome Shell before Gnome-Tweak-Tool extension was written. That part illustrates the extreme flexibility of Gnome Shell, Classic Mode is just an example.
    Last edited by finalzone; 06-15-2013 at 02:56 PM. Reason: Additional information.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •