Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: xrandr 1.4 multi-gpu works!

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default doesn't seem to work anymore...

    Well, today I tried again with a current kubuntu trusty and I cannot get the secondary card working whatever I try. With 13.10 it works fine... If someone would like to help me figure it out here are the relevant logs:

    http://pastebin.com/hEuE8SZE working dmesg (13.10)
    http://pastebin.com/WeSByULi working Xorg.0.log

    http://pastebin.com/wSSH3r91 bad dmesg (14.04)
    http://pastebin.com/dTrgDnAd bad Xorg.0.log

    As you can see, Xorg doesn't load nouveau on the second card anymore. I'd report a bug, but I don't know exactly against which component...

    Thanks

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbios View Post
    Well, today I tried again with a current kubuntu trusty and I cannot get the secondary card working whatever I try. With 13.10 it works fine... If someone would like to help me figure it out here are the relevant logs:

    http://pastebin.com/hEuE8SZE working dmesg (13.10)
    http://pastebin.com/WeSByULi working Xorg.0.log

    http://pastebin.com/wSSH3r91 bad dmesg (14.04)
    http://pastebin.com/dTrgDnAd bad Xorg.0.log

    As you can see, Xorg doesn't load nouveau on the second card anymore. I'd report a bug, but I don't know exactly against which component...

    Thanks
    Pseudo-edit: I tried starting from 13.10 and upgrading mesa and nouveau ddx and it still works. so the problem is either in the new kernel or in xorg 1.15. Figuring out a way to try those...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kbios View Post
    I tried starting from 13.10 and upgrading mesa and nouveau ddx and it still works. so the problem is either in the new kernel or in xorg 1.15. Figuring out a way to try those...
    Yep, looks like this got busted recently. On openSUSE 13.1 (using the stock 3.11.x kernel and driver stack) it works. But updating to newer components has borked it. See https://bugzilla.novell.com/show_bug.cgi?id=867499

    Hoping more people can look into it.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    The options are described in the xrandr manpage, in the section "RandR version 1.4 options"
    Code:
    $ xrandr --listproviders
    would be a start.

    Unfortunately there are no examples at the bottom, but it is not difficult to figure out.
    I've got a dual-GPU 4-output nvidia NVS440 card and xrandr --listproviders only shows one GPU no matter what I do (2 heads per GPU)

    I'd really like to know what version of X the original poster was using and what config he used (as would others).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    822

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by stoatwblr View Post
    I've got a dual-GPU 4-output nvidia NVS440 card
    That is your hardware, but what is your software and configuration? Also if you have a driver section in xorg.conf, then you need one for each of your GPUs. (I suggest to have no xorg.conf at all.)

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    88

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tyler_K View Post
    Yep, looks like this got busted recently.
    Looks to me like it was indeed the runtime PM changes that broke this. However, with kernel 3.14, a small update to the code logic restores this functionality on non-PX radeon+radeon systems.

    Users of other adapters (ex. nouveau, intel) should check to see if similar runtime PM logic has been adopted in the respective DRM/kernel driver.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    15

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chithanh View Post
    That is your hardware, but what is your software and configuration? Also if you have a driver section in xorg.conf, then you need one for each of your GPUs. (I suggest to have no xorg.conf at all.)
    DQ35JO board, Q6600, 8Gb / Ubuntu 14.04/kernel 3.13.0-[12-21]/ ZFSonRoot/xorg-edgers daily builds. - and I've tried with every iteration of xorg.conf I can think of (including "none at all").

    I'll try 3.14 as soon as I can be sure ZFS will build on it/

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •