Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: xrandr 1.4 multi-gpu works!

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    176

    Exclamation xrandr 1.4 multi-gpu works!

    Today I discovered that a fundamental (well, for me) milestone in the linux desktop world has been achieved: with xrandr 1.4 it is effectively possible to seamlessly use multiple monitors attached to DIFFERENT VIDEO CARDS, with different resolutions, each with its own desktop, with the ability to move windows between screens AND full 3d acceleration on all the screens. All this with the open drivers.

    I wanted to share this as information on this topic is nearly not-existent (all the articles I could find were about rendering offloading).

    I tested it with a clean kubuntu 13.04 image, with 2 GTX 285. KDE detected the two screens without any configuration, and put a desktop on each one. I was able to run Unigine heaven 2.5 at high settings, windowed (1024x768) and move the window between the screens while it was running (15-30 fps). Simply amazing.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default Great!

    I need to test on my PC with integrated Radeon 4250 and pci-express nvidia geforce GTS250.
    I was already able to do GPU offloading from radeon to geforce while testing on Fedora test day.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I can confirm it works.

    My configuration:
    Motherboard ASRock 880GMH (integrated Radon 4250)
    Pcie Nvidia Geforce GTX250
    (CPU: AMD X4 635)

    I need to default integrated GPU set in BIOS!
    (if I set default GPU to pcie, integrated is not visible trough lspci)

    Using Fedora 19 (pre-stable) I get out of box multimonitor desktop (VGA on integrated radeon, DVI on pci geforce) using opensource driver. IIRC it does not work with prop driver.
    Default rendering GPU is radeon. I can offload render using DRI_PRIME=1 to run opengl game on nvidia (which is much faster).

    Unfortunately DRI_PRIME can't work with prop driver due to licence issues.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    29

    Default

    I would just like to add some screenshots. I was also able to connect 3 monitors to PC (2 to IGD and 1 to DIS)

    here are images: http://imgur.com/a/1XqgV

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Posts
    2

    Default

    How does one configure multi-gpu with RandR 1.4? Are there some guides how to do it available somewhere?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    833

    Default

    The options are described in the xrandr manpage, in the section "RandR version 1.4 options"
    Code:
    $ xrandr --listproviders
    would be a start.

    Unfortunately there are no examples at the bottom, but it is not difficult to figure out.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •