Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 39

Thread: Mageia 3 Released, Still Using Legacy GRUB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,641

    Default Mageia 3 Released, Still Using Legacy GRUB

    Phoronix: Mageia 3 Released, Still Using Legacy GRUB

    At long last the third major version of Mageia, the popular community fork of Mandriva Linux, is now available. There's a lot of new stuff to Mageia 3 like a new version of RPM and updated systemd, but the distribution is still not shipping GRUB2 by default...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTM3NTU

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    206

    Default Sadly?

    GRUB is still being used as the default boot-loader while GRUB2 is only available for testing, sadly while many other Linux distributions have been already depending upon GRUB2 for years.
    Sadly? Grub2 in my eyes is the second worst thing, right after Gnome3, that happend to desktop Linux in recent years.
    Why do things the simple way if you can make it really hard and complex...

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Nov 2011
    Posts
    352

    Default

    mouting iso's in a loop? uefi support? a richer feature set?

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,116

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by garegin View Post
    mouting iso's in a loop? uefi support? a richer feature set?
    Mounting ISOs in a loop are a special case that almost no one ever uses. UEFI support? Just use Elilo or gummiboot. And which of the features that other bootloaders do not have are people actually using? And is it worth the downsides, like having to write scripts for a bootloader?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,540

    Default

    I'd say the best thing that GRUB2 offers is lower maintenance burden. The legacy GRUB has to patched like nothing else to function adequately.
    They could ship LILO, though. Or SYSLINUX. But I suppose going to GRUB2 is the logical step, just that they need to make sure it's stable enough before doing the upgrade. No need to rush, after all.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    91

    Default

    Good for them, I dislike Grub 2. In distros that use that I usually still have to edit the grub.cfg file manually, despite dire admonishments, because the scripts tend to do silly things like add any partition with a Windows filesystem and automatically create pointless stanzas for "failsafe" boot modes for each kernel image it finds etc. Most of the times that I have to reconfigure my boot loader, all that would need changing is a few characters in filenames. For me personally, Grub 2 is a whole pile of unnecessary complexity.

    The original grub had some strange syntax, but once you understood it, it wasn't hard to use. Redhat based distros had scripts like "grubby" that automatically took care of the distro stanzas when you install kernel RPMs. They didn't touch your custom stanzas either, if you build your own kernels your way.

    I still use LILO myself. It's simple, filesystem agnostic and has no choice but to work when properly used. Its main drawback is its strength... the direct mappings that have to be (re)established when you add or change a kernel image. That can be an inconvenience, but even in the worst case where the system won't boot, or there are no other kernels to boot to get in and run the lilo command, it's easy enough to boot with a CD and specify root= or even just boot with other media and chroot to run lilo.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Finally one that make sense..

    Grub 0.97 just work, easy to use, easy to change parameters of a collection of kernels using different parameters..
    Grub 1.9x is just a stack of complication compared to grub 0.97.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I installed with grub2... asks in setup. and works perfectly.. very stable... very fast...

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thedeli View Post
    I installed with grub2... asks in setup. and works perfectly.. very stable... very fast...
    And now go compile a new kernel, add some kernel boot parameters and if posible remove the initrd

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by thedeli View Post
    I installed with grub2... asks in setup. and works perfectly.. very stable... very fast...
    And now compile a new kernel and add some boot parameters to it (that resist to updates)

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •