Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Radeon 7770 Can't reclock crash kernel

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default Radeon 7770 Can't reclock crash kernel

    Hi, guys i just noticed yesterday that my 7770 crash the kernel when trying to change the profile to mid/auto/high and dynpm never escalates the freq of the GPU.

    i generated the bugzilla entry in kernel.org https://bugzilla.kernel.org/show_bug.cgi?id=58621 [image of crash attached to bug report], anyone knows a better way to debug this issue deeper since im not too used to debug GPUs in the kernel.

    im using kernel 3.10-rc2 but i can reproduce it all way back to 3.8 and this is my GPU http://www.amazon.com/MSI-Radeon-Dis...words=msi+7770

    btw this card with radeon even in lowest profile is freaking fast so is not a slowness issue
    any help very appreciated

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,028

    Default

    Sorry, thats nothing, you should have uploaded entire dmesg and not as a picture. Plus posted what system you use, exactly what versions for kernel, mesa, libdrm, xf86-radeon :/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    Sorry, thats nothing, you should have uploaded entire dmesg and not as a picture. Plus posted what system you use, exactly what versions for kernel, mesa, libdrm, xf86-radeon :/
    ill try to show a dmesg but after the panic everything freezes mouse, keyboard and even ssh become inaccessible and my mobo don't have rs232 only firewire[which my other laptop don't have]

    i build the entire stack git daily and the kernel is 3.10-rc2 release but is not an mesa issue since it only happens when you try to reclock the GPU to another profile beside low aka i can reproduce it from kms or from X the same way.

    about the picture it is the entire message the only line not shown says "cut-here"

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    I'm wondering that if this is happening before the HD gats mounted if the kernel log would be in messages or not? I doubt it. What about your .config file? Is there anywhere you can post that? and your grub.conf.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duby229 View Post
    I'm wondering that if this is happening before the HD gats mounted if the kernel log would be in messages or not? I doubt it. What about your .config file? Is there anywhere you can post that? and your grub.conf.
    ill post my config when gets home and grub.cfg

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,184

    Default

    here is my .config http://pastebin.com/78VD7LEa
    and my grub.cfg[grub2] http://pastebin.com/2Lu0wv9s

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •