Page 4 of 5 FirstFirst ... 2345 LastLast
Results 31 to 40 of 46

Thread: Brütal Legend Is Exciting To Linux Gamers

  1. #31
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mibo View Post
    Except for the "extras" menu (visual corruption) it works fine with the Catalyst 13.4 and my old HD5850 in 1920x1080 fullscreen.

    If it didn't came via Humble Bundle, I would never have been playing this cool game... (played just the first minutes, yet)

    also got a HD5850 but for me the screen always turns black, sound continues several seconds and then it hardlocks

    the first time Eddie talks/moves after the monster has awakened (pretty much at the beginning)

    resolution is also 1920x1080 fullscreen but with r600g driver - I might have to give the catalyst a try


    any ideas ?

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    912

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth View Post
    also got a HD5850 but for me the screen always turns black, sound continues several seconds and then it hardlocks

    the first time Eddie talks/moves after the monster has awakened (pretty much at the beginning)

    resolution is also 1920x1080 fullscreen but with r600g driver - I might have to give the catalyst a try


    any ideas ?
    You might be hitting 62466, update DDI and MESA from git.

  3. #33

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by GreatEmerald View Post
    I'm with Yahtzee on the name of this game. Why did they name it "Bruetal Legend" in the first place...
    It's a metal trope as others have stated. That and many awesome English language bands are actually hailing from western Europe, Scandinavian countries, Germany and even France all having quite prominent acts here in the US.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    2,913

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    You might be hitting 62466, update DDI and MESA from git.
    Or just disable hyperz, at least to confirm.

  5. #35
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    111

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by entropy View Post
    As I said, I'm able to download BL on the Steam Linux client.

    Not sure if it actually works yet, though.
    It is downloading about 8 Gb which is quite a lot *for me*.
    I can't tell you if the game actually runs and ships with an executable right now.
    Thanks.
    Just bought the bundle and ALL 4 games have the Install button available. Nice.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Vienna, Austria; Germany; hello world :)
    Posts
    607

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brosis View Post
    You might be hitting 62466, update DDI and MESA from git.
    had DDX/DDI and mesa from may 6th and it hardlocked, not sure when that patch was supposed to get in, I remember having seen it earlier so it probably didn't help in my case

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    Or just disable hyperz, at least to confirm.
    yeah, disabling hyperz helped definitely ! no hardlocks anymore

    llvm also had to be disabled though - occasionally the screen still would turn black but it could be switched to VT, program terminated - so no hardlock


    in the end the following prefixed commands lets it run OK-ish so far:

    R600_DEBUG=sb,nohyperz R600_LLVM=0


    thanks !

  7. #37
    Join Date
    May 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Did anyone get a gamepad to work? Runs fine on r600g (with slight glitches) but I can't really be expected to play this with a mouse and a keyboard, can I?

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1,360

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dee. View Post
    Humble Bundle should start accepting bitcoins... I want to buy Linux games with bitcoin, that'd be great for my geek cred
    A day after I posted this, Humble Bundle started accepting bitcoins...

    Ahem... I'd like a million dollars (preferably in Bitcoin)!

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by kernelOfTruth View Post
    also got a HD5850 but for me the screen always turns black, sound continues several seconds and then it hardlocks

    the first time Eddie talks/moves after the monster has awakened (pretty much at the beginning)

    resolution is also 1920x1080 fullscreen but with r600g driver - I might have to give the catalyst a try


    any ideas ?

    After playing this cool game a bit more, I have to say that I also have those black screen lock ups :-( using Cat 13.4 and HD5850.
    I can play 5 to 20 minutes before something ends my fun.

    I opened a report an AMDs forum: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/166818
    Could this be the same bug in two different drivers?

    Anybody else here, playing Brutal Legends with AMD/Catalyst?

  10. #40
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    888

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mibo View Post
    After playing this cool game a bit more, I have to say that I also have those black screen lock ups :-( using Cat 13.4 and HD5850.
    I can play 5 to 20 minutes before something ends my fun.

    I opened a report an AMDs forum: http://devgurus.amd.com/thread/166818
    Could this be the same bug in two different drivers?

    Anybody else here, playing Brutal Legends with AMD/Catalyst?
    If you think this is due to the driver, how about giving 13.6 beta Catalyst a try?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •