Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 49

Thread: AMD Releases Catalyst 13.4 For Linux

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Location
    San Bernardino, CA
    Posts
    233

    Default

    Any news on whether a new legacy driver for r600 owners will be released now that 13.04 is out?

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Backlight adjustment still broken (http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=711). Every beta since 13.1 has been like this. It's good to know that they incorporate user feedback!..
    It's not even on the release notes. Honestly it's hard to think they care.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by tuke81 View Post
    Hmm just wondered is there same opengl4.3 features added as windows drivers :


    Does anyone installed them, please show glxinfo.
    Yes, They appear in glxinfo.

    For me the driver is as stable as 13.2beta7 (that is, it just doesn't go right from intel igpu to dgpu and vsync does not work, and not fully stable when switching from dgpu to igpu without restarting). 13.3beta3 didn't work well with me (kernel bug at each shutdown).

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Kraków, Polska
    Posts
    44

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [Knuckles] View Post
    Backlight adjustment still broken (http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=711). Every beta since 13.1 has been like this. It's good to know that they incorporate user feedback!..
    It's not even on the release notes. Honestly it's hard to think they care.
    Hi, but the backlight control works ?!?! ... For example, under Kubuntu and without any problems - which you have entries in grub and what kernel? look to my channel on YouTube and you'll see there backlight control - I don't give You link to this, because my comment does not appear ... again ;/

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    570

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by [Knuckles] View Post
    Backlight adjustment still broken (http://ati.cchtml.com/show_bug.cgi?id=711). Every beta since 13.1 has been like this. It's good to know that they incorporate user feedback!..
    It's not even on the release notes. Honestly it's hard to think they care.
    Does setting the brightness from the GUI menus in KDE / Gnome / <insert preferred DE here> work, or is it completely borked?

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    92

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Silverthorn View Post
    It is nice to get rid of the stupid watermark. At least for a while.
    Hey, are you aware that you can easily get rid of the watermark? It's caused by a hash in /etc/ati/signature. Without a valid string in that file, it displays the watermark. With the beta drivers, it ships with the word "UNSIGNED" in place of the signature. Simply copy the string from the last release and it will work without the watermark. For example, I'm (still... haven't upgraded yet) using the 13.3 beta, and simply used the string from the 13.1 release. I wouldn't normally use a beta, but it was easier than adapting patches to get the back end to compile with Linux 3.8.x.

    Code:
    b707d1012f4412b1c0f865b95bee38e0:8e29e1311d692383f0c1578136c309d48f32e6326c6953e589d85d8b6edb0ad0:8f62e3384a752180f19c538069dd00d3d137b2301a732a80f3ce068a6bd75cd48f61e2334a722183f69b53806edd5dd58f3eb5391a202ad3f69d01db6b8f5cd0
    There are other, more involved methods of actually replacing some bits in the xorg driver library fglrx_drv.so using objdump, awk and sed but the above seems to be the easiest and most harmless.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Sonadow View Post
    Does setting the brightness from the GUI menus in KDE / Gnome / <insert preferred DE here> work, or is it completely borked?
    I use the keyboard keys, but the ubuntu gui pops up an thinks the backlight is being adjusted (but it doesn't change).

    It's definitely a regression, because every version <= 13.1 works, you install 13.4 and it stops working, and you revert to the older packages and it works again.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2013
    Posts
    69

    Default

    And again TF2 perfomance issues!
    With 13.3 beta3 (from late march) TF2 game play was smooth, with 13.4 it freezes with 2 seconds interval.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    21

    Default

    still using 13.3 beta3 atm. just considered to upgrade to 13.4, but i guess no.

    and wtf is this?

    [373909]: Driver install via .deb package will cause OS desktop corruption
    seriously?

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    537

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oldskool69 View Post
    still using 13.3 beta3 atm. just considered to upgrade to 13.4, but i guess no.

    and wtf is this?



    seriously?
    I'm guessing that this means that if you install this driver from your desktop, you end up with the new version installed while at the same time you are still running with the last version (since this was loaded when your desktop started compositing, if it uses opengl). And it probably causes strange behaviors.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •