Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Radeon Gets Multi-Screen Reverse Optimus Support

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,301

    Default Radeon Gets Multi-Screen Reverse Optimus Support

    Phoronix: Radeon Gets Multi-Screen Reverse Optimus Support

    Hours after David Airlie posted a new Nouveau X.Org driver with "multi-screen reverse Optimus" support, AMD's Alex Deucher ported the code to the open-source Radeon driver...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTQyNDA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    1,086

    Default

    Alex is on fire lately

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Does this mean we might finally be able to have two gpus driving 4 displays, but with a single gpu drawing everything (so that there no xinerama and etc issues)?
    That would be an awesome way to have 4 displays for working with old crappy graphics cards.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    I think what this means is that you can have your monitors plugged into your discrete GPU, but have your integrated Intel GPU doing the actual rendering.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    521

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by duby229 View Post
    I think what this means is that you can have your monitors plugged into your discrete GPU, but have your integrated Intel GPU doing the actual rendering.
    Yes, but my use case is more: 2 radeon gpus, 2 monitors attached each, and having radeon gpu 1 doing the rendering for them all (don't really care about gaming, just pretty opengl desktop).

    Is the solution generic enough so that I can replace "intel gpu" with "radeon gpu", is basically what I'm asking.

  6. #6

    Default What is the real world use of this?

    Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have an Nvidia discrete GPU built into them?

    Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have an Intel discrete GPU built into them?

    Have there been any Intel-based laptops which have an AMD discrete GPU built into them?

    Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have a more powerful AMD discrete GPU?

    Or is this part of some "foundational groundwork" which will help lead to crossfire/SLI support in the OSS driver? (Ditto for nouveau)

    Or...... ?

    I haven't looked at laptops in quite a long time, so I genuinely do not know. My old laptop still serves me well for now.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    2,320

    Default

    Background on reverse optimus:
    http://airlied.livejournal.com/76723.html

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    449

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    1) Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have an Nvidia discrete GPU built into them?
    2) Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have an Intel discrete GPU built into them?
    3) Have there been any Intel-based laptops which have an AMD discrete GPU built into them?
    4) Have there been any AMD-based laptops which have a more powerful AMD discrete GPU?
    1) Not that I recall, but it wouldn't surprise me.
    2) No (Intel don't make discrete GPUs)
    3) Yes
    4) Yes (there have also been laptops with a weak discrete GPU and a more powerful integrated GPU (e.g. discrete HD 7450, integrated HD 6650))

    :-)

  9. #9

    Default

    Well what about an OpenCL render slave? Will the OSS drivers allow you to use an AMD APU as strictly an OCL churner while the dedicated GPU does all the graphics?

    What about mixed GPU generations and vendors? Can you have an Nvidia iGPU running Nouveau with an AMD GPU all extending the desktop?

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2013
    Posts
    1

    Default Hello!

    Hello everyone I'm new to the forum and good Phoronix, the issue I'm interested Amd eto know if my graphics can help Amd 7870 and I have a 4250 built this can help you? or not?
    _________
    Espaņol
    Hola a todos soy nuevo en el foro de Phoronix y bueno, en el tema de Amd me interesaria sabe si eto puede ayudar a mi grafica Amd 7870 y tengo una integrada 4250 esto puede ayudarla en algo? o no?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •