Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: AMD Catalyst 13.3 Beta 3 Available For Linux Users

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    917

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    No it isn't. Not the driver API anyway. It changes every time a developer's ass itches.
    To be fair, that is mostly an issue for out-of-tree drivers.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,149

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by elanthis View Post
    No it isn't. Not the driver API anyway. It changes every time a developer's ass itches.
    Userspace visible API is backwards compatible. In-kernel private APIs are not.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    364

    Default

    I haven't used fglrx in a few months. Is the 2D performance still as bad as it used to be?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    As i packaged several amd fglrx beta releases with Debian kernel 3.7/3.8 patches i can say what happened was a 1:1 integration of those. Amd did not need to do much, those have been provided by the community. Now to Serious Sam 3, there is absolutely no working fix, the lastest public beta from SS3 shows the menu correct, but the first logo is with artefacts. When you don't use gfxRestart() while the menu is shown (or via pressing Alt+Enter twice) then serveral textures like trees flicker in the level you start then. Also the OpenGL performace in Linux is very bad, on Win OpenGL is faster - at least using Killing Floor. SS3 with my HD 5670 is more or less unplayable when there are lots of enemies shown. If AMD wants to provide the GPU for a steambox then they should begin working on OpenGL much harder than they did before. Users with slower CPUs have got even more problems, then even Source engine games are unplayable, with slower i mean Phenom X4/X6 and FX. i7 seems to have got more power to run Source engine better. KF with every possible renderer on 3 gfx solutions tested including fglrx 13.3 beta 3:

    http://steamcommunity.com/app/221410...4089658431267/

    If i would use the performance mode with my cpu i could gain 2 fps, but thats pointless - maybe with slower systems you gain more. I don't understandt at all why the OpenGL performance is better on Win than on Linux. Amd (and Nvidia too!) should really profile the driver to find the cause of this difference. Intel has a max. difference of 25% for OpenGL, D3D(9) with KF is extra slow, Intel Win driver devs could do some profiling as well
    Maybe its different for me because I don't have the same video card/cpu but I haven't had any problems with Serious sam 3, its slower under linux but still very playable. OpenGl performance is pretty close for me in Unigine and minecraft with sonic ethers shaders (those are the only games/benchmarks I have that run opengl under windows). I'm running linux mint 14 and my system is an i5 2500k@4.8 with a radeon 7970. My GF isn't having any problems either on her system since I installed linux mint 14 and steam. She plays amnesia the dark descent, penumbra overture and world of goo and they all seem to run fine. Her system is an i5 2500k@4.5 with a radeon 7950 (she did have a 6870 and she didn't have problems on it either)

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    199

    Default Watermark

    Will they ever remove that ridiculous watermark? Will they ever fix the default underscan setting? Will they ever give us Windows feature parity, e.g. in ccc?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,060

    Default Changelog

    Pleasantly surprised to see a changelog!
    I hope it is not just a one-time thing only!
    I hope they continue with it!

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Location
    Amsterdam
    Posts
    295

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by brent View Post
    I haven't used fglrx in a few months. Is the 2D performance still as bad as it used to be?
    I believe it was 13.1, that fixed some 2d problem for me.

    Now the screen, in Fire fox is as on windows. No flickering.
    Smooth.
    Scrolling a page, no problem. Not anymore......
    Before I only had to move the mouse to know if I was on Linux.
    Now I need to look at the bottom or top of my screen to tell which os I use.

    hd 5750 with phenom II x4 3.2.

    Although I am very happy about this it took them long enough.

    How poor is that code, that on my specs, a webbrower is an issue.

    I hope I sound cynical, but I try to look forward.

    Amd is improving their drivers.

    On team fortress 2 it has improved to a point I need a benchmark to tell if there is a difference between Linux and w7.

    I once did made mods, maps for some other game, the driver problem with SS3, looks obvious to me.
    A problem with semi transparent textures. Textures with alpha mask. grass, leafs on trees, blood splatter.

    alt + enter twice at start screen, solves the flickering problem for me.
    I am currently not running beta drivers.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,634

    Default

    I dont know how much faster your card is but with the autodetected SS3 settings for my HD 5670 the game is much below 25 fps when many enemies are on the screen. Must be something weird going on that slows the game down that much.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Porto
    Posts
    231

    Default hang on shutdown

    x crashs again on shutdown with 13.3 on hybrid system (intel/amd gpu) cs condition zero low fps (i played with intel hd 3000 without problems) is more the same, amd canīt do a working or a good perfomance driver for linux or windows. the engenniers from amd are completely stupid or incompetent, i really nedd to sell my laptop i buy one with only intel gpu

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    527

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by rikkinho View Post
    x crashs again on shutdown with 13.3 on hybrid system (intel/amd gpu) cs condition zero low fps (i played with intel hd 3000 without problems) is more the same, amd canīt do a working or a good perfomance driver for linux or windows. the engenniers from amd are completely stupid or incompetent, i really nedd to sell my laptop i buy one with only intel gpu
    +1... BACKLIGHT ADJUSTMENT STILL BROKEN ON MY LAPTOP. Last working version was 13.1. Yes I've reported. Yes I've tested every beta since.

    Honestly I'm just waiting for Haswell and I'll never touch AMD graphics again in my life. Glad I've always stayed with nvidia on my desktop machine too.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •