Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 34

Thread: Open-Source Support For AMD "Richland" APUs

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    in front of my box :p
    Posts
    793

    Default

    Well, once I buy something new today it should have USB3. Most have but with an external chip that might need an extra driver and that uses additional energy and is less performant.
    Anyway, your chances on standard VGA are quite good, maybe if DVI-I is there you can use an adapter. Serial is sadly becoming a rare thing but parallel (Centronics)... wow. It's a rare find on any mainboard today and even addon cards normally only have lots of serial ports but lack parallel. I guess Super-IO still support "LPT" and floppy but due to space reasons or lazyness to spend 5 cents they are not executed as pin headers or anything.
    For me serial and floppy are most welcome but increasingly hard to find, not even PCI controller cards are offered for FDDs. :/

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    Yeah I finally just broke down and bought a USB floppy drive. It still does everything that an internal drive can do, its just less convenient. Plus the quality of the drive seems lower. It's plastic.

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    154

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AJSB View Post
    "native" Parallel + Serial is a must have for me.
    What have you got that plugs into parallel ports and serial ports? You might be interested in one of these:

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=XC4834 and http://www.aten.com/products/product...odel_no=UC232A

    Or you could build your own:

    http://www.google.com.au/imgres?imgu...QEwAw&dur=7713

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    604

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madbiologist View Post
    What have you got that plugs into parallel ports and serial ports? You might be interested in one of these:

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=XC4834 and http://www.aten.com/products/product...odel_no=UC232A

    Or you could build your own:

    http://www.google.com.au/imgres?imgu...QEwAw&dur=7713
    Those devices works with some software, with other type of software, they are useful as a brick....we need truly native parallel/serial ports(s) in main board or else won't work....i'm talking about microcontroller stuff that is controlled at a very low level as for hardware goes (and many times even via software written in Assembler to achieve extremely precise timings)

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
    Posts
    154

    Default

    AMD announced the availability of the desktop "Richland" A-Series APUs on 5th June 2013. Model numbers are A10-6800K, A10-6700, A8-6600K and A8-6500. They contain Radeon HD 8670D, Radeon HD 8670D, Radeon HD 8570D and Radeon HD 8570D graphics respectively. Further specs and info about performance increases is available at http://www.amd.com/us/press-releases...013june05.aspx

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    573

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by madbiologist View Post
    AMD announced the availability of the desktop "Richland" A-Series APUs on 5th June 2013. Model numbers are A10-6800K, A10-6700, A8-6600K and A8-6500. They contain Radeon HD 8670D, Radeon HD 8670D, Radeon HD 8570D and Radeon HD 8570D graphics respectively. Further specs and info about performance increases is available at http://www.amd.com/us/press-releases...013june05.aspx
    The Richland series is pretty much a rebrand with slightly increased CPU and GPU frequencies. Sadly the 6800K is much more expensive than the 5800K.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    I disagree about the sadly part. This way it is much better supported on linux. I say thankfully.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,102

    Default

    "Much more expensive"? The launch price for 5800k was 115eur, the launch price for 6800k is 125eur. Sure the 5800k is cheaper now, because AMD cut prices to sell old inventory, but the launch price going up by 10e is hardly much.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    France
    Posts
    573

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    "Much more expensive"? The launch price for 5800k was 115eur, the launch price for 6800k is 125eur. Sure the 5800k is cheaper now, because AMD cut prices to sell old inventory, but the launch price going up by 10e is hardly much.
    It probably depends on countries, but in France, a 5800K is about 110€ and a 6800K about 140€.

    Quote Originally Posted by duby229 View Post
    I disagree about the sadly part. This way it is much better supported on linux. I say thankfully.
    The Trinity APUs also have decent open source support. Their graphics are based on the HD 6000 architecture, not HD 7000. And note that the "HD8xxx" found in the Richland APUs are still based on HD 6000s.
    Last edited by Calinou; 06-08-2013 at 10:31 AM.

  10. #30
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    187

    Default

    So who here has a Trinity APU based laptop and does suspend/hibernate work for you? My Asus N56DP never comes back from suspend successfully, the display never turns on. (But the system is awake, you can ssh into it, etc.)

    I'm wondering if any of this new Richland support will also make Trinity behave better.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •