Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
Results 21 to 30 of 37

Thread: KDE Can Now Start A Heck Of A Lot Faster

  1. #21
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Posts
    207

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    But the problem is, why does KDE start slower than say Gnome in the first place? It's a welcome addition but why was KDE plagued by this issue for these many years in the first place?
    It doesn't. Load a proper KDE distribution and it starts in less than 1 second, but of course if you start a GNOME distro and spend 20 second loading GNOME and finally GDM, then it is going to take some time swapping that shit out before you can spend a second loading KDE.

  2. #22
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    69

    Default

    I disgress, kde4 takes several seconds to load (regardless of having a fresh profile or not). This started to be bad around some 4.x revision a few month ago, in fact.
    gnome takes ~1s here (oh and yeah, as you might expect, i run this on couple of raid0 high speed ssd and theres enough ram that swap is never ever hit)

  3. #23
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Vilnius, Lithuania
    Posts
    2,666

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hermit View Post
    They should rename it ksession (replacing ksmserver) to be consistent with the naming convention for other KDE components.
    Nah, rather to "csession". KDE got tired with everything starting with the letter K. Hence Calligra, and KDE release codenames have started with C as well (Cnuth, Cartoffel, Cilense, Cold). Although lately they haven't been using codenames at all.

  4. #24
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,333

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by uid313 View Post
    Still too slow!
    Yep. If a desktop/wm takes longer than 100ms to start, it's crap, to put it bluntly.

  5. #25
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    1,310

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BO$$ View Post
    But the problem is, why does KDE start slower than say Gnome in the first place? It's a welcome addition but why was KDE plagued by this issue for these many years in the first place?
    I think there is a combination of factors:

    1. As others have said, "if it ain't broke, don't fix it". Since the startup process is so critical devs were afraid to introduce regressions.

    2. I think it partly has to do with how KDE is structured. It is fairly monolithic, so a lot of the libraries and resources are loaded right off the bat, even if they aren't needed at the time. This improves access time later, but slows down the startup process. They could do this in the background, but that is more complicated and risky, and it is difficult with how the libraries are structured internally. Hopefully more can be done along these lines with frameworks 5

    3. Similarly, a lot of DEs use a trick where they show you something, but it isn't fully usable yet because stuff is still being loaded in the background. KDE does this a lot less, being able to mostly use your desktop and applications as soon as it appears (windows is particularly notorious for this, try clicking on the start menu as soon as it is visible). Still, user-visible portions can be prioritized over unnecessary things, and parts of the artwork can be loaded more an-demand as well perhaps.

    4. There seemed to be more pressing issue to resolve. Frankly, I am surprised we haven't gotten any "why are you wasting time on the startup process when there are all these bugs" comments yet.

    None of these are fundamental issues. 2 is somewhat limited until frameworks 5 makes things more modular, but there is still a lot of room for improvement now, and none of the frameworks 5 related changes can be done without some other more basic restructuring. Further, I am sure there are limits as to what this sort of approach can do while kdelibs is frozen. So I doubt we will see this merged into mainline before frameworks 5.
    Last edited by TheBlackCat; 03-10-2013 at 06:34 AM.

  6. #26
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by carewolf View Post
    It doesn't. Load a proper KDE distribution and it starts in less than 1 second, but of course if you start a GNOME distro and spend 20 second loading GNOME and finally GDM, then it is going to take some time swapping that shit out before you can spend a second loading KDE.
    I can't confirm that. On Archlinux on a SSD I get like ~2 seconds system startup time and about 5-10 seconds kde start time.

    Perhaps it's because my akonadi database has 150 megabyte of junk and I have not found out where it stores the backup copy of that database so I can delete it properly.

  7. #27
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,261

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Luke_Wolf View Post
    well there actually has been other work see Aaron's comment here http://aseigo.blogspot.com/2013/01/plasma-active-4.html on startactive which is a systemd based solution, so there has been playing around with that otherwise but yeah...
    Read again. They are replacing startactive (which is a trimmed down version of the current startkde script) with a systemd-based solution. However sessionk does not depend on systemd which might be an advantage for Kubuntu, Debian, and FreeBSD users but OTOH is an additional piece of software to maintain for KDE.
    I don't care which solution I get as long as it works.

  8. #28
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,052

    Default

    You can test it out, but not everything works. Some observations:

    1. It really starts kde much, much more quickly than startkde
    2. I don't get tooltips from things in the system tray
    3. I can't change keyboard layouts
    4. It deleted my desktop background image settings on the first start, even for the regular kde session
    5. It uses a different icon set for the tray icons than I have set in kde settings
    6. The font uses colored antialiasing. I noticed because it bothers me on most monitors I see it on. So probably the font settings are not correctly read or set
    7. The kde screen lock doesn't work
    8. Doesn't seem to load the kscreen service properly on starting

    Promising start, but not really useful as of yet.
    Last edited by ChrisXY; 03-10-2013 at 07:58 AM.

  9. #29
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    731

    Default

    1) KDE startup just work. :P
    2) KDE startup relay on sleep(4)
    3) sessionk start base kde in 5 seconds on NON-SSD hardware!

  10. #30

    Default Martin Graesslin's bootup contribution

    A lot of work has been put into making KDE log in faster, from all portions of the community it seems.

    http://blog.martin-graesslin.com/blo...p-performance/

    I can speak to this first hand. Moving from KDE 4.8.x to the 4.9 series was night and day in terms of boot up times. I'm glad that there's still continued work going into this effort.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •