Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 22

Thread: SNA Sandy Bridge Is Quick To Beat UXA Too

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,645

    Default SNA Sandy Bridge Is Quick To Beat UXA Too

    Phoronix: SNA Sandy Bridge Is Quick To Beat UXA Too

    There were huge SNA performance gains on Ironlake over UXA in the most recent testing that happened last night. Curious to see how the SNA 2D acceleration architecture is working for Sandy Bridge graphics hardware, for which it was originally intended, here are some new benchmarks...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTMxMzY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    683

    Default

    GtkPerf seam to favour UXA on Gen5/6. Bug or feature ?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,378

    Default

    I'm curious why QT has been affected less than cairo with the transition.
    I would imagine that ickle has a nice test suite and uses that a basis (the test suite being heavy with cairo), perhaps, along with general architectural improvements. However, I wonder if the qt 2d library (sorry, I forgot what it's called) has been designed to be less sensitive to driver issues (i.e., targets the minimum features one should expect from any driver). Since qT has a cairo backend (perhaps not well maintained, but should still be present), I wonder how that could fare.
    Something I just noticed is that gtk doesn't seem to have a testing suite. There looks like there is an abandoned one in sourceforge (that is the one michael uses), but not an official one. How sad is that? This is very similar to the general problems with gnome testing (although that is at least being addressed somewhat with complete unit testing and sanity checks). I suppose the problem is lack of manpower and interest. Similar to the documentation crisis
    Last edited by liam; 02-27-2013 at 02:07 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liam View Post
    I'm curious why QT has been affected less than cairo with the transition.
    I would imagine that ickle has a nice test suite and uses that a basis (the test suite being heavy with cairo), perhaps, along with general architectural improvements. However, I wonder if the qt 2d library (sorry, I forgot what it's called) has been designed to be less sensitive to driver issues (i.e., targets the minimum features one should expect from any driver). Since qT has a cairo backend (perhaps not well maintained, but should still be present), I wonder how that could fare.
    Qt doesn't have cairo backend, but cairo has Qt backend.
    Qt4 has native (X11), raster and opengl backend.
    Qt5 has only raster backend.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,378

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JS987 View Post
    Qt doesn't have cairo backend, but cairo has Qt backend.
    Qt4 has native (X11), raster and opengl backend.
    Qt5 has only raster backend.
    Gah! You're right. I reversed ends
    Are you sure qt5 dropped the opengl backend?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liam View Post
    Gah! You're right. I reversed ends
    Are you sure qt5 dropped the opengl backend?
    Qt5 has limited opengl backend, but QPainter can't use it.
    http://blog.qt.digia.com/blog/2012/04/03/qt-5-alpha/
    The QWidget based stack continues to work as in Qt 4.x, based on QPainter. QPainter does however support less backends than it used to. It is now limited to SW rasterization (Raster backend) for drawing to the screen, pixmaps and images, an OpenGL backend for GL surfaces and a backend for PDF generation and printing. The platform dependent backends using X11 or CoreGraphics are gone.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    1,378

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JS987 View Post
    Qt5 has limited opengl backend, but QPainter can't use it.
    http://blog.qt.digia.com/blog/2012/04/03/qt-5-alpha/
    What's going on? Are they having development issues? Dropping those backends, like Coregraphics, seems like it would make it harder to target specific platforms natively.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,102

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by liam View Post
    What's going on? Are they having development issues? Dropping those backends, like Coregraphics, seems like it would make it harder to target specific platforms natively.
    I don't think you're supposed to use QPainter at all anymore in Qt5. They want you to use QML on top of an OpenGL scene graph instead.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    332

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by smitty3268 View Post
    I don't think you're supposed to use QPainter at all anymore in Qt5. They want you to use QML on top of an OpenGL scene graph instead.
    Exactly. Morons from Nokia/Digia/whatever want force QML crap after crippling Widgets.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Location
    Pennsylvania, United States
    Posts
    1,877

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JS987 View Post
    Exactly. Morons from Nokia/Digia/whatever want force QML crap after crippling Widgets.
    "QML Crap" ? Its even easier to create user-interfaces, they automatically scale to smaller displays, you can do everything you could with QtWidgets, its automatically hardware accelerated, platform independent because its written in javascript, and carries ZERO legacy cruft.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •