Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 19

Thread: Amd Hd 3850 Agp

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    France
    Posts
    8

    Default Amd Hd 3850 Agp

    Hi all,

    As you may know there are 2 fresh AGP cards from Sapphire and PowerColor.

    I's very hard to find an official test of these cards even for Windows. The only results I found are from someone who buy one last week [1].

    After looking at the performance improvement on Windows I only want to know if someone has one of these cards on Linux.

    Thanks


    [1] http://www.clubic.com/forum/hardware...768-page1.html

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    They released AGP versions of the HD38xx series????
    Darn! If only I'd waited instead of purchasing my HD2600XT AGP ..
    I'd still not have a working Linux driver though

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    10

    Unhappy

    I have the 3850 AGP and so far I have not had much luck with it in Ubuntu 8.04 alpha 6, about the only thing that works is the VESA driver and not that well. Hopefully support for this will come soon! If anyone can get it working with something other than VESA, let me know!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Hello!

    Is there any Plan from Amd to release Linux driver for this Card?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    370

    Default

    i doubt amd will ever support this.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Redeeman View Post
    i doubt amd will ever support this.
    I guess i'm upgrading, It works well on the dark side. besides it's gonna work with the radeonhd driver (no 3d). It will probably also work with ubuntu 8 given time. Mind you that cards such as x1950 did work. in pervious Ubuntus you did have to disable (false) PCI-E detection. The main problem is that these cards (as always are basicly PCI-E cards

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    11

    Default Progress?

    Has the recent progress with the AMD/ATI driver in any way improved this situation?

    Can you run a 3850 agp, with 3D support under linux at all?

    Cheers.
    D.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    As an update to my earlier post there,
    I have now been running my 2600 XT AGP just fine under Linux with 3D support since the release of Catalyst 8-5 (so mid-May) and my discovery of the mem=xxxxMB kernel boot parameter (it runs Doom3, Homeworld, GoogleEarth and other OpenGL stuff).
    Recently I purchased an upgrade to a 3850 AGP.
    It ran just fine for about 5 hours,
    with no changes to the driver whatsoever, all the way until some of it's memory chips got hot enough to expose manufacturing flaws and the card died.
    (It's being repaired / replaced under warranty)
    So I don't see why the 3850 AGP wouldn't be able to run just fine under Linux with the fglrx driver + the 3D support that brings?

    The main trick for me in getting the fglrx driver to work was to tell the kernel to limit physical memory.
    At first I tried with mem=3000MB (my system has 4 GB of RAM) but now setting the boot parameter to mem=4096MB actually works fine too.
    I suppose that the driver, when loading, had a hard time mapping the card's 512MB or the AGP aperture onto physical ram and by setting that parameter, I may not have limited the kernel at all but merely changed the algorithm by which it assigns memory blocks upon boot-time.
    It did the trick and that is the important thing!
    Last edited by Swoopy; 07-15-2008 at 02:00 AM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    6,622

    Default

    usually the option is

    mem=valueM

    not MB.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    90

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Kano View Post
    usually the option is

    mem=valueM

    not MB.
    Thanks for the correction.
    I rechecked my /boot/grub/menu.lst and indeed
    Code:
    mem=4096M
    is what I have inserted there on the
    Code:
    kernel          /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.etc.etc.etc.
    line.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •