Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 26

Thread: Crusader Kings 2 Game Ships For Linux On Steam

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,370

    Default Crusader Kings 2 Game Ships For Linux On Steam

    Phoronix: Crusader Kings 2 Game Ships For Linux On Steam

    The popular "Crusader Kings 2" game is now available with native Linux support and is available for digital download through Valve's Steam Linux client...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTI3NTA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Slovenia
    Posts
    389

    Default

    I really like their games, especially Victoria II.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Posts
    279

    Default

    Is that the full gameplay ? If so it really sucks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    1

    Wink This is awesome, but unfortunately not my type :'(

    I hope they'll release Cities in Motion 2 for Linux. I asked about Linux support in their forums ~ 3 months ago and I think they are considering it. They didn't promise anything, but I was responded with this:

    Thanks for the feedback! Taking on a new platform is always more work than just the porting and publisher is the one to make these calls, but let's see what we can do
    So, there is still some hope

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    90

    Default

    well this sux would not have time to read Phoronix for the few months

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    906

    Default

    Anyone tried it with the Radeon FOSS drivers yet?
    I did with mesa 9.0.1 (HD 4850) and at least the maps are black.
    Not sure if it works with 9.1 git/head.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    2,008

    Default Never heard

    Never heard of that game.
    Made me think of Carta marina though.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by entropy View Post
    Anyone tried it with the Radeon FOSS drivers yet?
    I did with mesa 9.0.1 (HD 4850) and at least the maps are black.
    Not sure if it works with 9.1 git/head.
    First check ~/Documents/Paradox Interactive/Crusader Kings II/logs/error.log and other logs.
    Probably it's problem with wrong macro in shader file.
    STANDARDFUNCS_H__ macro is violates GLSL standard.

    If you remove two first and last lines from /gfx/FX/standardfuncsgfx.fxh file map will probably show.

    I posted this bug here:
    forum.paradoxplaza.com /forum/showthread.php?658210-GLSL-Bad-macro-in-standardfuncsgfx.fxh
    Sorry for broken link, but I know there is pre-moderation for posts with links from new accounts.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Location
    Old Europe
    Posts
    906

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DenT View Post
    First check ~/Documents/Paradox Interactive/Crusader Kings II/logs/error.log and other logs.
    Probably it's problem with wrong macro in shader file.
    STANDARDFUNCS_H__ macro is violates GLSL standard.

    If you remove two first and last lines from /gfx/FX/standardfuncsgfx.fxh file map will probably show.

    I posted this bug here:
    forum.paradoxplaza.com /forum/showthread.php?658210-GLSL-Bad-macro-in-standardfuncsgfx.fxh
    Sorry for broken link, but I know there is pre-moderation for posts with links from new accounts.
    Thanks!

    I'll give that a try when I'm back at home.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Posts
    10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by entropy View Post
    Thanks!

    I'll give that a try when I'm back at home.
    Please upload screenshots if game will work for you.

    There is report from other forum: after removing wrong macro map is visible on Intel HD3000 with few bugs.
    Screenshots:
    1 - without water and trees (performance quite high)
    2 - with everything enabled (performance is low)
    Probably game should be playable on some AMD cards with open source driver.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •