Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 28

Thread: KDE To Get Improved Multi-Monitor Handling

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    486

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    This don't save or restore the Settings after an system start.
    The "Save as default" button should restore the settings after a system start.
    To be honest I've never tried it, because the X default is also the default I want to use for my setup ;-)

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    ฿ 16LDJ6Hrd1oN3nCoFL7BypHSEYL84ca1JR
    Posts
    1,049

    Default

    What about two external screens? What if your virtual X size is not big enough for two screens side by side but it would be big enough for one over the top of the other (I'm looking at you, fglrx)? What if I don't want do disable the internal display when closing the laptop for a short time?

    What also wasn't shown: What about window placement? When I disable my external screen, everything is moved to the remaining screen. When I re-enable it, everything stays there...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    662

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droste View Post
    The "Save as default" button should restore the settings after a system start.
    That didn't work since 5 years.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    1,130

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by NomadDemon View Post
    finaly, i hope they will port it to other DE lso
    libkscreen does not seem to have any dependencies on anything KDE-specific, although I could be wrong. All I can see are Qt dependencies. (The choice of pure GPL for a library is weird, though.)

  5. #15

    Default Multi Seat

    It would be nice if these efforts reach the heights of their logical conclusion, which is automagic multi seat goodness.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    119

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    That didn't work since 5 years.
    Has consistantly worked on my machine for the last 5 years... Might want to try it again or figure out what else could be the issue.

  7. #17

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    That didn't work since 5 years.
    Works fine here with R600g, nouveau and Intel.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    662

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ShadowBane View Post
    Has consistantly worked on my machine for the last 5 years... Might want to try it again or figure out what else could be the issue.
    Quote Originally Posted by RussianNeuroMancer View Post
    Works fine here with R600g, nouveau and Intel.
    But you definitely don't use more than one monitor. Because this bug is confirmed since 5 years for Multimonitor setups.

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Dec 2012
    Posts
    2

    Lightbulb Multiple Video Cards

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    But you definitely don't use more than one monitor. Because this bug is confirmed since 5 years for Multimonitor setups.
    Multiple monitors on the same video card are hit and miss.

    Multiple monitors over multiple video cards hasn't worked properly with most Linux desktops in years.

    (For example, just install >1 video card, hook up a monitor to it, and even if xorg.conf is properly configured, it won't appear in Gnome / KDE GUI's to position monitors. Icon dragging between different X screens is a no go although it worked in CentOS 5.8.)

    If you are putting in the effort to deal with multiple monitors, please consider the case of multiple video cards. (4 video cards X 6 monitors = 24 monitors is a reality in terms of hardware, it needs to be a reality in terms of software as well.)

    Thanks!

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jul 2011
    Posts
    364

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nille View Post
    But you definitely don't use more than one monitor. Because this bug is confirmed since 5 years for Multimonitor setups.
    Works form me.... I have used it at least some years.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •