Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 12

Thread: NVIDIA Updates Its 319 Linux GPU Driver

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,912

    Default NVIDIA Updates Its 319 Linux GPU Driver

    Phoronix: NVIDIA Updates Its 319 Linux GPU Driver

    NVIDIA released today the 319.82 binary Linux graphics driver with new graphics card support and handling for the X.Org Server 1.15 release...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTU2NzM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    106

    Default

    And yet the latest 331.xx branch still doesn't have XOrg 1.15 support. I suppose it is kind of cool that NVIDIA has basically went back to their legacy drivers and added XOrg 1.15 support, but it seems kind of backwards that their latest drivers supporting their most recent cards are the last to get it.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    I'm not sure what the difference is between this and 319.76 which was released in November.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    21

    Default I wish nouveau was better.

    Still no xrandr 1.2 or efifb support . I'm stuck with one resolution and black screen on TTY.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by z0id View Post
    Still no xrandr 1.2 or efifb support . I'm stuck with one resolution and black screen on TTY.
    Afaik XRandr 1.4 appeared in 319 series and should be enabled and stable in the 331 series. Upgrade driver?

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2012
    Posts
    21

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by mark45 View Post
    Afaik XRandr 1.4 appeared in 319 series and should be enabled and stable in the 331 series. Upgrade driver?
    Well, it has some xrandr support, but it's incomplete. Only the native resolution of the screen is exposed through xrandr 1.2+, which makes it kinda useless.
    Heres's my xrandr output:
    ---
    $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
    VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    LVDS-0 connected primary 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 331mm x 207mm
    1920x1200 60.0*+
    DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    ---

    And this is the only resolution that games see. Want to change to a lower res. because the HUD is too small and you can't see/read it? Want to improve fps rate? Tough luck.
    Also, if I change the resolution through nvidia-settings to a lower one, half of the desktop is out of the screen, because they removed the scaling options. (or something else is missing, idk)
    The wine devs have a relevant commentary on the subject in the source code, but I can't find the link right now.

    I also tried to change the video card on my laptop to an AMD one to use the open driver, but found out that HP (my laptop is a HP), only allows their overpriced, outdated hardware parts to work. Any other video card, wi-fi card, you name it, is blocked by the BIOS, which is encrypted, cannot be modded, and cannot be downgraded.

    Sometimes this closed tech shit really gets on my nerves.
    End of rant

  7. #7
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    828

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by z0id View Post
    Sometimes this closed tech shit really gets on my nerves.
    End of rant
    Same experience with Sony SD cards years ago, since then I swore to God to always google about the product before even thinking to buy it because minutes/hours of googling might save you months/years of frustration.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Posts
    12

    Default Downgrade

    I just downgraded from 331.20 to 319.82 on Fedora 20 x86_64. I did it to see if it fixes a problem with nvidia module error on resume. Which it seems to have done.

    I am also curious if it fixes gnome-shell randomly crashing, but that will take some time.

    In the process of recompiling the 331.20 src.rpms with 319.82 I found that nvidia didn't release 319.82 for x86, just x86_64.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,516

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by z0id View Post
    Well, it has some xrandr support, but it's incomplete. Only the native resolution of the screen is exposed through xrandr 1.2+, which makes it kinda useless.
    Heres's my xrandr output:
    ---
    $ xrandr
    Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 1920 x 1200, maximum 8192 x 8192
    VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    LVDS-0 connected primary 1920x1200+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 331mm x 207mm
    1920x1200 60.0*+
    DVI-D-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    HDMI-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    ---

    And this is the only resolution that games see. Want to change to a lower res. because the HUD is too small and you can't see/read it? Want to improve fps rate? Tough luck.
    I can play games in lower resolutions:

    Code:
    Screen 0: minimum 8 x 8, current 3840 x 1080, maximum 8192 x 8192
    DVI-I-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    VGA-0 disconnected (normal left inverted right x axis y axis)
    DVI-I-1 connected 1920x1080+0+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 531mm x 299mm
       1920x1080      60.0*+
       1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
       1152x864       75.0  
       1024x768       75.0     60.0  
       800x600        75.0     60.3  
       640x480        75.0     59.9  
    HDMI-0 connected 1920x1080+1920+0 (normal left inverted right x axis y axis) 510mm x 287mm
       1920x1080      60.0*+   59.9     50.0     30.0     25.0  
       1280x1024      75.0     60.0  
       1280x960       60.0  
       1280x800       59.8  
       1280x720       60.0     59.9     50.0  
       1152x864       75.0  
       1024x768       75.0     70.1     60.0  
       800x600        75.0     72.2     60.3     56.2  
       720x576        50.0  
       720x480        59.9  
       640x480        75.0     72.8     59.9     59.9

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    452

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by z0id View Post
    Well, it has some xrandr support, but it's incomplete. Only the native resolution of the screen is exposed through xrandr 1.2+, which makes it kinda useless.
    It's very complete, actually. That is how xrandr1.2 is supposed to work if you go strictly by the spec, which is what Nvidia is doing. If the app does xrandr1.2, it's supposed to provide detailed info about what it wants. Few apps do so, but you could argue that's an app problem. You could also argue it's inefficient, each app having to duplicate detailed resolution handling.

    You only see one resolution, because your display reports it supports only that resolution. Which is completely true. If you want other resolutions, set up metamodes with appropriate ViewportIn and ViewportOut parameters. Yeah, there should be a facility to make this simpler, like the xrandr properties that open drivers have. But that's not about not supporting xrandr1.2, it's about supporting it too strictly.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •