Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 53

Thread: HyperZ: Errata & The Catalyst Command Stream

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,353

    Default HyperZ: Errata & The Catalyst Command Stream

    Phoronix: HyperZ: Errata & The Catalyst Command Stream

    Following yesterday's article about Radeon Gallium3D HyperZ support defeating open-source developers, Jerome Glisse has clarified the situation after trying to make this code work properly for more than a half-year...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTE0MDM

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Oh plz. Just show us some Pipeworks Hyper Dog beer to hint to us that HyperZ isn't dead yet.

    Also you need to find a beer with "fire" in the name to hint that fglrx is going open source

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Why is there a public erratum list for AMD cpus and not public erratum list for AMD gpus?
    In my point of view AMD do not act rational and logical.

    Maybe AMD should pay someone who can help them out with rational and logical thinking.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    We include the errata in the programming documentation. IIRC for 6xx/7xx 3D it was called "programming notes".

    EDIT - sorry, "Driver Notes"... section 6.

    People in glass houses...

  6. #6

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    We include the errata in the programming documentation. IIRC for 6xx/7xx 3D it was called "programming notes".

    EDIT - sorry, "Driver Notes"... section 6.

    People in glass houses...
    Yes because of this articles like this are written.

    Maybe someone should upgrade this erratum list.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    (scratches head)

    We don't know what the problem is yet. How are we supposed to update the errata ?

  8. #8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    We include the errata in the programming documentation. IIRC for 6xx/7xx 3D it was called "programming notes".

    EDIT - sorry, "Driver Notes"... section 6.
    Are you saying Jerome Glisse doesn't know how to read? You'd think in 7 months he would've thought to consult that section to find the proper way to deal with this.

    Just so it's clear, I think it's reasonable that something could've been lost or forgotten. We're human, we make mistakes. But with that being the case, let's revisit the docs, find out whatever errata is missing, and publish it.
    Last edited by halfmanhalfamazing; 07-14-2012 at 04:17 PM.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    No, I'm saying this is a problem that didn't show up in diagnostics or while writing the proprietary driver, so there's no solution/workaround to put in the errata.

    Q was claiming that there were no errata at all. Different discussion.
    Last edited by bridgman; 07-14-2012 at 04:19 PM.

  10. #10

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by halfmanhalfamazing View Post
    Are you saying Jerome Glisse doesn't know how to read? You'd think in 7 months he would've thought to consult that section to find the proper way to deal with this.
    Just so it's clear, I think it's reasonable that something could've been lost or forgotten. We're human, we make mistakes. But with that being the case, let's revisit the docs, find out whatever errata is missing, and publish it.
    Yes funny in fact the open-source driver is best quality Assurance for your hardware you can get.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •