Results 1 to 10 of 72

Thread: Announcing radeontop, a tool for viewing the GPU usage

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default Announcing radeontop, a tool for viewing the GPU usage

    While the performance counters are still undocumented, at least some monitoring is possible.

    Announcing radeontop v0.5.1. An userspace tool for the open Radeon drivers, supporting R600 and up.




    Comments, bug reports, translations welcome. Package it for your distro if you like
    I'll be setting up launchpad translations if this proves popular.

    Download:
    https://github.com/clbr/radeontop

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    Coolcoolcool! I've been waiting for something like this!

    Minor nitpick, on my system make didn't generate version.h, I had to run getver.sh manually:
    radeontop.h:22:21: fatal error: version.h: No such file or directory

    I also see that my vertex cache reports 100% usage all the time, not sure what's up with that.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,514

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by whizse View Post
    I also see that my vertex cache reports 100% usage all the time, not sure what's up with that.
    Just a wild guess, but IIRC some of the low end parts didn't have a vertex cache and so vertex fetches went through the texture cache.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Posts
    379

    Default ?!?

    Good morning
    Great tool, does that look healthy?



    I had problems with getvers.sh btw... for some reason version.h wasn't created, had to do it manually.

    //edit: running
    Code:
    % sh getvers.sh
    works as well
    Last edited by disi; 07-08-2012 at 02:26 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    Thanks for the feedback, I've pushed 0.5.2 which should fix the build issue w/ version.h.

    As for the vertex cache, it seems the bit changed meaning starting with Evergreen, ie you can only see the vertex cache usage on r600 and r700. I'll fix that soon.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    Removed the VC display, seems it was only valid for r600 if even that. The TC may be wrong too, but hey, working off contradicting docs here

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Berlin, Germany
    Posts
    836

    Default

    Your issue and other problems with the Makefile (with suggested fix) have been reported already on github https://github.com/clbr/radeontop/pull/2

  8. #8
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    14

    Default

    Switching obj and LDFLAGS in the Makefile did the trick.
    Senk ju ferrie matsch.

    Great to see there is already a fix in the pipeline.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •