Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 17 of 17

Thread: Alien Arena Reloaded - Renderer Improvements, Etc

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Location
    Maryland
    Posts
    154

    Default

    The windows versions have been updated on Desura, as well as the standalone installer for Linux.

    I'll leave the branch/patches up to Strat then.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Rural Alberta, Canada
    Posts
    1,032

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by curaga View Post
    I find this curious. Could you make a sales pitch on why it (or any other indie game) should?

    It's not like Desura has a huge audience, it's more trouble to post updates to more places, etc.
    Maybe because it is already on Desura? Jeesh...

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Linuxland
    Posts
    5,187

    Default

    And how should I know that, given I don't use Desura?

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    158

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by dfblogic View Post
    IMO, it is pretty clear that what is needed is a system that builds distro-specific packages. (My soapbox rant on this is: Debian is an OS, Fedora is an OS, Gentoo is an OS, ... Linux is not an OS. Ergo, TANSTAALB - There Ain't No Such Thing As Linux Binary.) Do not know much about it, but openSUSE Build Service seems like a better approach.
    Hmm? Lot's of Linux games have a single installer that works on 99% of distros. See: everything icculus has ever ported.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by KameZero View Post
    Hmm? Lot's of Linux games have a single installer that works on 99% of distros. See: everything icculus has ever ported.
    Well, that is Icculus. From what I hear, he is a Jedi Master at Linux porting. Not so easy for us mortals.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Merida
    Posts
    1,104

    Default

    Any way to change the sound sampling rate for the game?

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Location
    Washington State, USA
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Melcar View Post
    Any way to change the sound sampling rate for the game?
    Not directly. We depend on OpenAL Soft, http://kcat.strangesoft.net/openal.html. Check alsoftrc.sample at the git repo, http://repo.or.cz/w/openal-soft.git/tree .

    Many of the sound effects files are 22050 Hz. Would be a good project to create higher sample rate sound effects.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •