Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 100

Thread: What Is AtomBIOS & These Different Drivers?

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    166

    Thumbs up

    Quote Originally Posted by sylware View Post
    It seems the parameter space size in the command table header is broken...
    I answer to myself. It is a global stack for the atombios... it would not work otherwise

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    1,353

    Default

    radeon and radeonhd are ddx drivers... IF you use KMS then they do not handle modesetting.
    mesa or gallium3d handle 3d drivers
    dri/drm handle kernel drivers.

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    That's either a spambot or someone pretending to be a spambot. The post was a direct copy of a question from the first page of the thread.

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Gothenburg
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    That's either a spambot or someone pretending to be a spambot. The post was a direct copy of a question from the first page of the thread.
    Yes it's a spambot, like "Edi8th99" above. It copies lines from the first page in the thread in order to hide from the bot filters. The bot selects threads with 50+ posts because people usually doesn't remember the exact wording of the first ten posts.

    If you hit "Reply with quote", the quote will usually include three "image" URL:s. The bot has evolved somewhat. A month or so ago it copied one line only. Then you could use " View Forum Posts" for the user to see the hidden URL:s but now it copies more lines so the preview won't show the URL:s.

    I'm reporting those I discover but admins/mods are asleep.

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    405

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smask View Post
    Yes it's a spambot, like "Edi8th99" above. It copies lines from the first page in the thread in order to hide from the bot filters. The bot selects threads with 50+ posts because people usually doesn't remember the exact wording of the first ten posts.

    If you hit "Reply with quote", the quote will usually include three "image" URL:s. The bot has evolved somewhat. A month or so ago it copied one line only. Then you could use " View Forum Posts" for the user to see the hidden URL:s but now it copies more lines so the preview won't show the URL:s.

    I'm reporting those I discover but admins/mods are asleep.
    Remember to turn adblock off so those pesky malware authors can turn a profit!

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    Gothenburg
    Posts
    60

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DaemonFC View Post
    Remember to turn adblock off so those pesky malware authors can turn a profit!
    (checks the blockable objects list) Nope, ABP doesn't block those "images". I think that either the spambot doesn't craft the URLs correctly or the forum software blocks it somehow.

    The spambot is capable of posting proper URLs when copying other's posts so I lean towards badly formatted URLs.
    Last edited by Smask; 11-16-2011 at 11:05 AM. Reason: Adding a line

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    166

    Question infos...

    The "official" driver is not anymore the radeonhd but the radeon driver (it's probably that one you use)

    The atombios is a set of memory tables (stored in the ROM associated to the gpu chip). It includes a fully executable byte code.

    It's main purpose is to be customized by board manufacturers in order to abstract away the details of their board for the OS driver. Yes, the OS driver cannot reasonnably deal with all the customisations of the board manufacturers.

    On AMD GPU, the atombios is also in charge of DCE (Display Control Engine) programming. Basically, when you want to perform operations on this silicium block, you would have to interpret the appropriate atombios byte code.

    Atombios is ACPI for AMD's GPU board.

    Moreover, I have seen some infos on AMD's Graphics Core Next (HD79xx), and we don't know what will happen to the atombios (and DCE) since this is a huge architectural change scheduled for next year.

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    West Australia
    Posts
    372

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Smask View Post
    (checks the blockable objects list) Nope, ABP doesn't block those "images". I think that either the spambot doesn't craft the URLs correctly or the forum software blocks it somehow.

    The spambot is capable of posting proper URLs when copying other's posts so I lean towards badly formatted URLs.
    I can see what you're talking about now. Stupid spambot. I didn't even notice! Someone must be having a laugh right about now... I wonder how many forums it has infected.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,540

    Default

    Hey, I wrote that first. Die spambot die !

    Exterminate !!!

    Exterminate !!!

    Exterminate !!!

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    166

    Question radeon_atombios_connected_scratch_regs s0 s3 and s6

    Hi,

    That atombios function is liting display device bits in s0 s3 and s6.

    I bet each register target a specific state on the display path.

    What are they?

    (s6 means the path is doing memory request, related to the atombios EnableCRTCMemReqs command table?)

    Like the dpms and crtc bits... are they actually used from dce4/5?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •