Results 1 to 10 of 76

Thread: Radeon R600 Tiling Patches Are Ready

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,808

    Default Radeon R600 Tiling Patches Are Ready

    Phoronix: Radeon R600 Tiling Patches Are Ready

    Jerome Glisse, the Red Hat developer commonly working on the open-source Radeon graphics driver, has announced that he believes the R600 Gallium3D tiling support is complete...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=MTA1MjY

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    52

    Talking Awesome!

    I can't wait to see benchmarks about this interesting feature Thank you Jerome Glisse!

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Russe, Bulgaria
    Posts
    511

    Default

    This is just fantastic! All Linux Radeon users thank you, Jerome
    Have a nice break, and please do HiZ if it is your domain. Thanks.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    75

    Default

    > The ColorTiling2D option though still needs to be enabled within the xorg.conf for proper support.

    How to enable it? Which option must be added to xorg.conf?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Feb 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pali View Post
    > The ColorTiling2D option though still needs to be enabled within the xorg.conf for proper support.

    How to enable it? Which option must be added to xorg.conf?
    same question

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by vancel1 View Post
    same question
    If you have to ask, you probably don't have the skillset to test the patches without exact step by step instructions, which would take too much time (and be too machine-dependent) to be worthwhile.

    However, if you must know:

    Section Device
    Identifier "blah"
    Driver "radeon"
    Option "ColorTiling2D" "on"
    EndSection
    Put something like that in /etc/xorg.conf.d/01-heh.conf

    NB: If this breaks your X because of invalid syntax or something, I am not responsible! This is untested "air code". You are responsible for figuring out how to debug X and get it working if there's an error.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    52

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Drago View Post
    Have a nice break, and please do HiZ if it is your domain. Thanks.
    That would be great! For those who don't know what HiZ stands for, it means Hierarchical Z-Buffer. There is some code to support this feature, but it's stuck since August as you can see here and according to freedesktop's bug report it doesn't work.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    934

    Default

    https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=36602

    Hi-Z seems stalled unfortunately
    ## VGA ##
    AMD: X1950XTX, HD3870, HD5870
    Intel: GMA45, HD3000 (Core i5 2500K)

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    8

    Default

    3.4 is a long wait.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Russe, Bulgaria
    Posts
    511

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ormaaj View Post
    3.4 is a long wait.
    This is a large patch, and 3.3 merge windows is closed. I wish it could be faster

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •