Page 21 of 21 FirstFirst ... 11192021
Results 201 to 208 of 208

Thread: AMD Catalyst 7.11 Linux Driver

  1. #201
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Bigon View Post
    doesn't work for me. Was working with previous version
    you mean previous fglrx version?
    or previous Xorg-1.3 ?

  2. #202
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    51

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Nevohteeb View Post
    I tried all the options you mentioned and did not see any difference on my desktop environement nor under WoW.

    Nevertheless I did not check xorg.0.log to see if there are any warnings tho.

    I noticed I'm not the only one having the WoW bug with 8.42 and 7.11 drivers, but I guess this will be fixed with next release (hope so ^^)

    Anyway, I'll installed and configure compiz tonight to see if all the options you told me about are needed or not
    umm what is your Wow bug?

    Read this site for help with ati conf with wow and .wine

    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine/Troubleshooting

    and here is the appdb page for wow under .wine
    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...rsion&iId=9429

  3. #203
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slacker View Post
    Hi,
    quick question:
    is AIGLX and composite supposed to work with xorg-1.4?
    with catalyst-7.11..
    thanks
    It works for me, and quite fast aswell. (Xpress 1100/200M) Compiz Fusion won't work, however KWin4 with compositing works brilliantly.

  4. #204
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teroedni View Post
    umm what is your Wow bug?

    Read this site for help with ati conf with wow and .wine

    http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine/Troubleshooting

    and here is the appdb page for wow under .wine
    http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...rsion&iId=9429
    Hello,

    the WoW bug I encounter is the "No Models" one reported on the wine appdb page : http://appdb.winehq.org/objectManage...rsion&iId=9429

    SET M2UseShaders "0" did not help at all.

  5. #205
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    51

    Arrow

    Instrutions taken from http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine



    Registry Tweak for FPS Boost

    Open a terminal window, (konsole/terminal/x terminal etc..), type regedit and press enter. This will start the Wine equivalent of the windows registry editor. If you are familiar with using the registry editor under windows then this is pretty much the same.

    1. Find HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\Wine\
    2. Highlight the wine folder in the left hand pane by left clicking on it. The icon should change to an open folder.
    3. Click right on the wine folder and select [NEW] then [KEY].
    4. Replace the text "New Key #1" with OpenGL (CaSe Sensitive).
    5. Right click in the right hand pane and select [NEW] then [String Value].
    6. Replace "New Value #1" with "DisabledExtensions" (CaSe sensitive).
    7. Then double click anywhere on the line, a dialog box will open.
    8. In the value field type "GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object" (without the quotes).

    Note: If you are unable to rename the newly created key "New Key #1" to "OpenGL" then expand the left hand pane of the regedit window using the vertical divider bar. You should now be able to change it. A known bug in Wine is causing this unwanted behavior.

    You should see a significant performance gain.
    But you want to also add the gl arb vertex program,since you have a Amd/Ati card

    so the last bit should be

    GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object;GL_ARB_vertex_program

    Should look like this in the registry


  6. #206
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    29

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by teroedni View Post
    Instrutions taken from http://www.wowwiki.com/Linux/Wine



    But you want to also add the gl arb vertex program,since you have a Amd/Ati card

    so the last bit should be

    GL_ARB_vertex_buffer_object;GL_ARB_vertex_program

    Should look like this in the registry

    Unfortunaly I already modified the registry :-( so that's not where my problem comes from.

    Thx anyway

  7. #207
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    72

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by chikazuku View Post
    It works for me, and quite fast aswell. (Xpress 1100/200M) Compiz Fusion won't work, however KWin4 with compositing works brilliantly.

    uhm, i can't get it to work!
    kde4 has no window borders, i can't do anything...
    X1400 mobility.
    Which distro are you using?
    Any particular xorg.conf options?
    I'm really confused.

  8. #208
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    27

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by slacker View Post
    uhm, i can't get it to work!
    kde4 has no window borders, i can't do anything...
    X1400 mobility.
    Which distro are you using?
    Any particular xorg.conf options?
    I'm really confused.
    I'm using OpenSUSE 10.3 x86_64 with fglrx 7.11 on an xpress 1100/200M. And using KDE4 RC1.
    I didn't do anything special with my X.Org configuration:

    Code:
    Section "ServerFlags"
      Option       "AllowMouseOpenFail" "on"
      Option       "IgnoreABI" "on"
      Option       "AIGLX" "on"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
      BoardName    "Radeon XPRESS 200M 5975 (PCIE)"
      BusID        "1:5:0"
      Driver       "fglrx"
      Identifier   "Device[0]"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY0" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX1" "0.000000"
      Option       "Stereo" "off"
      Option       "FSAAScale" "1"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY4" "0.000000"
      Option       "CapabilitiesEx" "0x00000000"
      Option       "no_dri" "no"
      Option       "PseudoColorVisuals" "off"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX0" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX2" "0.000000"
      #Option       "NoDDC"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY5" "0.000000"
      Option       "VideoOverlay" "on"
      Option       "OpenGLOverlay" "off"
       Option       "KernelModuleParm" "locked-userpages=0"
      Option       "CenterMode" "off"
      Option       "no_accel" "no"
      Option       "FSAADisableGamma" "no"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX4" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY2" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX5" "0.000000"
      Option       "UseInternalAGPGART" "no"
      Option       "mtrr" "off"
      Option       "StereoSyncEnable" "1"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY3" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosY1" "0.000000"
      Option       "FSAAMSPosX3" "0.000000"
      Option       "ForceGenericCPU" "no"
      Option       "Capabilities" "0x00000000"
      Option       "UseFastTLS" "0"
      Option       "GammaCorrectionI" "0x00000000"
      Option       "GammaCorrectionII" "0x00000000"
      Option       "FSAACustomizeMSPos" "no"
      Option       "ScreenOverlap" "0"
      Option       "BlockSignalsOnLock" "on"
      Option       "FSAAEnable" "no"
      VendorName   "ATI"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Extensions"
      Option       "DAMAGE" "true"
    EndSection

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •