Page 2 of 10 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 92

Thread: Gigabyte's ASPM Motherboard Fix: Use Windows

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,243

    Default

    I've had the best success with Biostar, though I only use their T-series AMD boards and I wouldn't want anyone to buy a board expecting Linux support. I've never used their tech support because I don't think they officially support Linux and I see they don't hire a lot of native English speakers... Comments on them from anyone else?

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Posts
    1,243

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Shining Arcanine View Post
    The same thing happened with my Lenovo T520. I called their technical support and they told me to use Windows.
    Bullsh!t. Ask them when you can expect the check for a Windows license.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    184

    Default Who?

    Who wrote the reply? Has is someone that was actually on the BIOS team, or some PR or marketing guy? Seeing as they confused driver support with fixing a BIOS buy, I'm guessing the later. It's not just about Linux, it's that the bios is not acting in accordance with the defined standards. Was the message actually delivered to anyone with the authority and know how to fix the bug? If not I would try addressing someone who did.

  4. #14
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,581

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by WorBlux View Post
    Who wrote the reply? Has is someone that was actually on the BIOS team, or some PR or marketing guy? Seeing as they confused driver support with fixing a BIOS buy, I'm guessing the later. It's not just about Linux, it's that the bios is not acting in accordance with the defined standards. Was the message actually delivered to anyone with the authority and know how to fix the bug? If not I would try addressing someone who did.
    Yes but unless the issue effects the supported operating system there is little reason for them to bother fixing it. If it works fine in Windows that is all that matters to them. Also just trying to get the information to the proper people is a HUGE challenge. In the article Mike linked to a thread I posted some time back trying to get the proper information to Asus's BIOS team. I would invite you to read that thread and see how much of a challenge that is. I posted the full correspondence from one such episode ( I have had many such issues and every time to get anything resolved involved a late night phone call over seas.).

  5. #15
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,425

    Default

    What motherboards are used in Apple's Mac products? Maybe they would be more suitable for linux builds?

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    26

    Default

    I realy need to say this:

    Use Windows or never buy Gigabyte. end of the story, the are known for poor support in bios area, they have no updates for bioses. I'am stil getting bios updates for my 4 years old mb a7n8x-e from asus.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1,425

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucx View Post
    I realy need to say this:

    Use Windows or never buy Gigabyte. end of the story, the are known for poor support in bios area, they have no updates for bioses. I'am stil getting bios updates for my 4 years old mb a7n8x-e from asus.
    If the air temp gets cool enough in here, my GB motherboard's BIOS reports a negative temp for the CPU, causing the fan to run at the lowest speed, regardless of load.

    srs

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default

    What about laptops shipping with Linux?

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    787

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by lucx View Post
    I realy need to say this:

    Use Windows or never buy Gigabyte. end of the story, the are known for poor support in bios area, they have no updates for bioses. I'am stil getting bios updates for my 4 years old mb a7n8x-e from asus.
    I'm going to have to call BS on this one, not only do they have Q-Flash which is the easiest way to flash one's bios, since you just need to stick the bios file on a flash drive and reboot into Q-Flash instead of jerking around with freedos, but there has already been 6 steppings to the BIOS on my A75-UD4H.

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    35

    Default

    So let's create a blacklist for mainboards.
    Also: what about coreboot? Will a chip with coreboot work flawlessly?

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •