Page 14 of 16 FirstFirst ... 41213141516 LastLast
Results 131 to 140 of 156

Thread: Rage Linux Port Is Not Likely Until 2012

  1. #131
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    Sweden
    Posts
    983

    Default

    For Rage using OpenGL 3.2? The only source I got is a screenshot of the console "created OpenGL 3.2 context":
    http://steamcommunity.com/id/leithba...08047549866565

  2. #132
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    106

    Red face

    an updated driver for all windows is out
    vista/7 x86/x64
    http://www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/hotfix/c...win7_vista.exe
    xp xpx64
    http://www2.ati.com/DRIVERS/hotfix/c...iew3_winxp.exe

    the textures are not "moving" any more . one thing is that this driver has same numbers for serial than previous preview
    it renders great and fps are getting a normal level

  3. #133
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    You should have linked to the actual web page, not the direct download :-/

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...eDriverV3.aspx
    Last edited by RealNC; 10-19-2011 at 05:38 PM.

  4. #134
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Hephasteus View Post
    You had better have repeated textures or you just don't encapsulate something. And dungeons had better have a repeatable texture theme or it doesn't look right.
    Setting, lightning, atmosphere, kind of debree... it just looks great. Sure you can see reocuring overlay/brush things, but not like copy-pasting the same 4-by-4-meter_texture^(infinite).

    It just looks great.

  5. #135
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    BTW, just to point out anyone wanting it to run it in wine and take advantage of the Cuda use in Rage there is a nice little "How-To" posted here:

    http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=167516

  6. #136
    Join Date
    Mar 2011
    Posts
    106

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    You should have linked to the actual web page, not the direct download :-/

    http://support.amd.com/us/kbarticles...eDriverV3.aspx
    links come from Rage3D http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthread.php?t=33982817
    where they wrote : "They are not officially posted yet on AMD's site so no idea what new changes."

    by the way , this new driver is not that good and i found a good change to do to make t3xtures look good .
    the trick is to add "+s_streamBufferSizeK 128" after rage.exe .
    by default the value is 42 . i did not check if 256 gives better results yet as 128 is quite nice .

    i tried to change some others cvars but no success

    cm_memoryMap "0"
    cm_backFaceCull "0"
    fc_maxCacheMemoryMB "96"

    the 2 first to 1 and the last to 4096 but no luck

  7. #137
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    I installed the drivers. The game is now playable. Previously it would freeze every few seconds. Speed isn't that great though; previously, between the freezes, it would give me 60FPS. Now it's about 30-40.

    We'll see how it runs with the new i5 2500K system I'm expecting for next week.

  8. #138
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,776

    Default

    John Carmack posted this on Twitter:

    "We have a bicubic-upsample+detail texture option for the next PC patch that will help alleviate the blurry textures in Rage."

    Rage's game world to me is a confusing mess of too many different textures. I get shot at by bandits and have no freaking clue where they're shooting from since I can't see them in all that visual mess. Making textures "sharper" by upscaling isn't going to improve things in this regard.

  9. #139
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,582

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    I get shot at by bandits and have no freaking clue where they're shooting from since I can't see them in all that visual mess.
    No, no, no, you can't hit them because they are ninja mutants.

  10. #140
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    55

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •