Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17

Thread: Firefox acceleration & AMD Gallium3D = Most sad thing...

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    134

    Default Firefox acceleration & AMD Gallium3D = Most sad thing...

    I bought a multi hundered $ GPU and still can't surf on internet with acceleration...
    I know Nvidia GPUs could run firefox with acceleration under linux.

    Fglrx can't. Also Gallium3D couldn't.

    I don't play games in linux (do you?). So it's better to have 3D accelerated firefox than a 3D accelerated games...

    Do you have any estimation when ati r600g + mesa drivers could accelerate Firefox nightly releases properly? It do you want to prioritize such a thing?

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    906

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Death Knight View Post
    So it's better to have 3D accelerated firefox than a 3D accelerated games...
    An accelerated firefox is surely the most useful thing

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    Germany
    Posts
    2,116

    Default

    Hardware acceleration in Chrome/Chromium works great. What problems do you have with Firefox? I am using a Radeon HD 4850.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Looks like fglrx was blacklisted in Firefox 4 and 5 but is whitelisted in Firefox 6 due to some changes in the way FF reads driver versions (apparently the changes allow it to distinguish between older and newer fglrx versions).

    https://wiki.mozilla.org/Blocklistin...aphics_Drivers

    There seems to be a winsys issue in the Gallium stack (any pipe driver, not just ATI), not sure if it has been fixed yet. In the meantime it appears that both fglrx and the r600c driver should be enabled automatically with FF 6.
    Last edited by bridgman; 05-28-2011 at 11:44 PM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,023

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Death Knight View Post
    I know Nvidia GPUs could run firefox with acceleration under linux.

    Fglrx can't. Also Gallium3D couldn't.

    Do you have any estimation when ati r600g + mesa drivers could accelerate Firefox nightly releases properly? It do you want to prioritize such a thing?
    Fglrx is supported, at least in the FF6 nightlies. The bug with gallium drivers is https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=37253. There doesn't seem to be a lot of interest from the Mesa devs in fixing it, unfortunately.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    134

    Question

    I don't think so.
    Using catalyst 11.5
    If I use layers.acceleration-force-enabled = true than I have openGL accelerated windows but with corruptions.
    ATI fglrx has corruptions at least with NI, (HD6850), attached the image.


    Also, it shows 10 FPS at http://demos.hacks.mozilla.org/openweb/HWACCEL/
    In windows it past the 60...

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    You shouldn't have to force anything on. Are you sure you're using FF6 ?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Istanbul
    Posts
    134

    Default

    Nope, using FF7a1...

    I see that at "about:support" page
    Code:
    Graphics:
    Adapter Description : ATI Technologies Inc. -- AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series Driver Version4.1.10750 
    Compatibility Profile Context
    WebGL Renderer : ATI Technologies Inc. -- AMD Radeon HD 6800 Series  -- 4.1.10750 Compatibility Profile Context
    GPU Accelerated Windows : 0/1
    But I If use force-enable
    Code:
    GPU Accelerated Windows : 1/1 OpenGL
    Do you sure if force-enable not required?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    684

    Default

    I've found even when force enabled it sucks with all the oss drivers, even intel. Its also pretty bugged with fglrx.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,385

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Death Knight View Post
    Do you sure if force-enable not required?
    I'm not sure at all about FF 7. What you are doing there looks right, and the status output confirms that you do not get "GPU accelerated windows" without forcing.

    The only docco I could find was for FF 6, and that docco suggested that acceleration was enabled with fglrx with FF 6.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •