Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: OpenGL ES 2.0 Support For Compiz, KWin, Cairo

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,658

    Default OpenGL ES 2.0 Support For Compiz, KWin, Cairo

    Phoronix: OpenGL ES 2.0 Support For Compiz, KWin, Cairo

    There's been a lot of references this week at UDS Budapest to OpenGL ES support since this version of OpenGL is what's predominantly supported on ARM/embedded devices. There's already been talk of OpenGL ES support in QEMU, among other projects. OpenGL ES 2.0 support is also coming to the Compiz and KWin compositing window managers. An OpenGL ES 2.0 back-end for Cairo was also brought up separately...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=OTQ0MQ

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,264

    Default

    I'm guessing that OpenGL ES doesn't use expensive floating point? If so then this should definately be the de-facto floss OS standard IMHO.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    11

    Default E17 supports GL-ES 2.0 for a while

    Enlightenment DR17 is built on top of Evas and thus supports OpenGL-ES 2.0 for a year or so.

    Although not as complete in effects as Compiz, it does a great job at the basics to improve desktop usability, reduce flicker effects and is being used in various embedded system with SGX/PowerVR gpus.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    459

    Default

    Very interesting.

    With the compatibility stuff introduced in OpenGL 4.1, OpenGL has become a superset of OpenGL ES which makes things rather uncomplicated.

    (OpenGL ES in radeon FLOSS drivers please)

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,441

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by plonoma View Post
    (OpenGL ES in radeon FLOSS drivers please)
    In principle I believe it is there today, since the GL vs GL ES paths are up in the common Mesa code. Don't think it has been tested much, however, although AFAIK Wayland is using GL ES and EGL on the radeon drivers today.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,927

    Default

    How does it work anyway?

    Right now, the drivers advertise OpenGL 2.1 and the additional extensions.

    How would they advertise OpenGL ES 2.0? Isn't all of the functionality needed for it already present?

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,441

    Default

    Last year you had to build mesa to expose GL or GL ES. My understanding is that more recent changes allow you to choose to expose any combination of GL, GL ES 1.1, GL ES 2.0.

    I haven't had time to figure out exactly what an application program would see if you enabled both GL and GL ES. I think you either build the app against GL or GL ES headers and that embeds enough information for the runtime to figure out the rest.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,441

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Last year you had to build mesa to expose GL or GL ES. My understanding is that more recent changes allow you to choose to expose any combination of GL, GL ES 1.1, GL ES 2.0.
    My guess is that default builds only expose GL, not GL ES.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Dec 2010
    Posts
    108

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    In principle I believe it is there today, since the GL vs GL ES paths are up in the common Mesa code. Don't think it has been tested much, however, although AFAIK Wayland is using GL ES and EGL on the radeon drivers today.
    It is there. I am using here KWin + OpenGL ES + EGL + radeon. It is working very nicely and I'm quite happy with it as it seems that the code pathes are much more stable (in fact I did not have a single crash since the switch to radeon compared to desktop GL crashing immediately) and reliable. Also KWin's OpenGL ES support had been implemented on nouveau with OpenGL ES/EGL. And we have asked distros to build special KWin packages and will recommend the ES usage.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Denmark
    Posts
    142

    Default

    This is great. I'm looking forward to (hopefully) be able to play with compiz on a Genesi Efika MX Smartbook at some point. That is, when they get the 3D driver working... ARM is cool, but it's too bad there are no open 3D drivers.

    Hey bridgman, does AMD have any plans on entering the ARM-market? We need you here . I know you sold off a portion of ATI that dealt with ARM (Adreno, right?), have you reconsidered your position on ARM since?
    Now that you've started generating profits again, maybe it's time reinvesting that money in an ARM division?
    I'd love it if you could elaborate on this situation a bit; if it's possible, and if it isn't, why not.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •