Page 61 of 143 FirstFirst ... 1151596061626371111 ... LastLast
Results 601 to 610 of 1423

Thread: Updated and Optimized Ubuntu Free Graphics Drivers

  1. #601
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jsa1983 View Post
    Well, glamor is compatible with xserver-xorg 1.13. I am using raring's 1.13.3 and glamor 0.5+git(around April 2013) from oibaf's ppa and my desktop loads nicely. So probably it is another bug or a misconfiguration. Are you sure the xorg.conf options are in place (i.e. Load "glamoregl" in the Module section and Option "AccelMethod" "glamor" in the Device section, although per this commit http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/dri...9ec50ef3b769f1 glamor should be enabled by default on radeonsi hardware)?
    I use raring (Xubuntu), these drivers, and I'm on Norther Island hardware (7660G + 7670M). I also installed the xorg glamor package (and dependencies).

    Here's my xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "Module"
            Load "dri2"
            Load "glamoregl"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier "radeon"
            Driver "radeon"
            Option "AccelMethod" "glamor"
    EndSection
    And my Xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=LQFfrqKF

    But after I reboot after setting my xorg.conf to use Glamor, I'm presented only with a black screen, with a mouse pointer on it. It's almost as if Xfce isn't loading fully or something.

    Just a quick question though about the Device section. Would I need to add another device section and somehow specify both devices in a dual graphics setup for glamor? Or does the Device section cover all devices?

    And also a general question; if I start 3D applications with DRI_PRIME=1 (my dGPU), they don't actually show anything at all if I have Xfce set to use no composting. If I enable composting though, the applications show up. Any ideas why, or what I could do to fix this (I don't want composting; I only want performance essentially)

  2. #602
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Espionage724 View Post
    I use raring (Xubuntu), these drivers, and I'm on Norther Island hardware (7660G + 7670M). I also installed the xorg glamor package (and dependencies).

    Here's my xorg.conf:
    Code:
    Section "Module"
            Load "dri2"
            Load "glamoregl"
    EndSection
    
    Section "Device"
            Identifier "radeon"
            Driver "radeon"
            Option "AccelMethod" "glamor"
    EndSection
    And my Xorg.0.log: http://pastebin.com/raw.php?i=LQFfrqKF

    But after I reboot after setting my xorg.conf to use Glamor, I'm presented only with a black screen, with a mouse pointer on it. It's almost as if Xfce isn't loading fully or something.

    Just a quick question though about the Device section. Would I need to add another device section and somehow specify both devices in a dual graphics setup for glamor? Or does the Device section cover all devices?

    And also a general question; if I start 3D applications with DRI_PRIME=1 (my dGPU), they don't actually show anything at all if I have Xfce set to use no composting. If I enable composting though, the applications show up. Any ideas why, or what I could do to fix this (I don't want composting; I only want performance essentially)
    I am afraid I cannot give you any advice regarding prime or dual gpus. My systems have a single gpu.
    With regard to your log, to me it seems normal. There are no errors and glamor seems to be initialized correctly. So the black screen with the cursos looks more like a bug. There seem to be some bug reports over there with more or less similar problems: http://lists.x.org/archives/xorg-dri...st/025084.html https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=998175
    Maybe you should look for similar bug reports and if none of them resemble to your problem, open a bug report.

    Just out of curiosity, if NI cards use r600g, and thus do not require glamor, why do you want to try glamor if you can launch Xorg just with the radeon DDX?

  3. #603
    Join Date
    Sep 2013
    Posts
    248

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jsa1983 View Post
    I am afraid I cannot give you any advice regarding prime or dual gpus. My systems have a single gpu.
    With regard to your log, to me it seems normal. There are no errors and glamor seems to be initialized correctly. So the black screen with the cursos looks more like a bug. There seem to be some bug reports over there with more or less similar problems: http://lists.x.org/archives/xorg-dri...st/025084.html https://bugzilla.redhat.com/show_bug.cgi?id=998175
    Maybe you should look for similar bug reports and if none of them resemble to your problem, open a bug report.

    Just out of curiosity, if NI cards use r600g, and thus do not require glamor, why do you want to try glamor if you can launch Xorg just with the radeon DDX?
    Thanks for the suggestion; I'll try looking through some bug reports a bit later.

    Hmm, not too sure, just thought Glamor would be helpful to overall performance or possibly fix that issue I mentioned about the dGPU not rendering anything without desktop compositing. I'm pretty new to most of this stuff

  4. #604
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    93

    Default

    I just wanted to note that on Tomasz Makarewicz's ppa there is a glamor 0.5.1 version already (https://launchpad.net/~makson96/+archive/mesa). However, from the glamor git log (http://cgit.freedesktop.org/xorg/driver/glamor/log/) it seems that 0.5.1 is only two revisions ahead of oibaf's ppa build.

    @Espionage724, maybe you could try that 0.5.1 version and see if it solves the problem you were describing.

    Edit: Oops, sorry, I had not realized that ppa does not have builds for raring, so it may not install properly.
    Last edited by jsa1983; 09-14-2013 at 07:37 AM. Reason: Additional information

  5. #605
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139

    Default

    hi

    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-client.so.0.1.0', which is also in package libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1

    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-server.so.0', which is also in package libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    utile eseguire "apt-get -f install" per correggere ci.
    I seguenti pacchetti hanno dipendenze non soddisfatte:
    libegl1-mesa : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libegl1-mesa-drivers : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libgbm1 : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    E: Dipendenze non trovate. Riprovare usando -f.
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    Correzione delle dipendenze... Fatto
    I seguenti pacchetti saranno inoltre installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    I seguenti pacchetti NUOVI saranno installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    0 aggiornati, 2 installati, 0 da rimuovere e 23 non aggiornati.
    9 non completamente installati o rimossi.
    necessario scaricare 0 B/52,7 kB di archivi.
    Dopo quest'operazione, verranno occupati 188 kB di spazio su disco.
    Continuare [S/n]? s
    (Lettura del database... 202732 file e directory attualmente installati.)
    Estrazione di libwayland-client0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-client.so.0.1.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Estrazione di libwayland-server0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-server.so.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Si sono verificati degli errori nell'elaborazione:
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$

  6. #606

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Vincenzov View Post
    hi

    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-client.so.0.1.0', which is also in package libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1

    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    trying to overwrite '/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-server.so.0', which is also in package libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    utile eseguire "apt-get -f install" per correggere ci.
    I seguenti pacchetti hanno dipendenze non soddisfatte:
    libegl1-mesa : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libegl1-mesa-drivers : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libgbm1 : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    E: Dipendenze non trovate. Riprovare usando -f.
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    Correzione delle dipendenze... Fatto
    I seguenti pacchetti saranno inoltre installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    I seguenti pacchetti NUOVI saranno installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    0 aggiornati, 2 installati, 0 da rimuovere e 23 non aggiornati.
    9 non completamente installati o rimossi.
    necessario scaricare 0 B/52,7 kB di archivi.
    Dopo quest'operazione, verranno occupati 188 kB di spazio su disco.
    Continuare [S/n]? s
    (Lettura del database... 202732 file e directory attualmente installati.)
    Estrazione di libwayland-client0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-client.so.0.1.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Estrazione di libwayland-server0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-server.so.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Si sono verificati degli errori nell'elaborazione:
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$
    Try updating again, maybe it is a problem of a package still not fully build when you updated. If not then complain to who didn't the tests when I asked some days ago

  7. #607

    Default

    @jsa1983: I backported glamor 0.5.1 (which is the same of what already was there but with a new version number, which is now required anyway by updated ati).

    I am posting this from a KDE 4.11 session while admiring kwin's window decorations... so it works. However, the package kde-window-manager requires libwayland0 (>= 1.0.2) and libwayland 1.2 seems to be split across three different libs, none of them libwayland0-1.2, so in order to install kde-window-manager its .deb control file must be edited in order to delete that dependency or to change it to (I assume) libwayland-client0.
    Yes, this is why I asked the output of apt-cache rdepends a few posts ago. I'll see to backport that package in my test PPA if you identified the package (not on the main PPA so to not overwrite kde 4.10 package). Which PPA is that package from so that I can backport and recompile from it?

    @pali:
    And you planning in future add radeonsi support also to precise? Because precise is supported until 2017.
    @oibaf: Is there any problem to compile radeonsi also for precise in your ppa?
    Yes, the lack of free time

  8. #608

    Default

    @Vincenzov
    Quote Originally Posted by oibaf View Post
    Try updating again, maybe it is a problem of a package still not fully build when you updated. If not then complain to who didn't the tests when I asked some days ago
    I need the output of:
    apt-cache rdepends libwayland0 libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0 libwayland-dev libwayland-cursor0
    on your failing system.
    Last edited by oibaf; 09-17-2013 at 11:42 AM.

  9. #609
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    93

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by oibaf View Post
    @jsa1983: I backported glamor 0.5.1 (which is the same of what already was there but with a new version number, which is now required anyway by updated ati).


    Yes, this is why I asked the output of apt-cache rdepends a few posts ago. I'll see to backport that package in my test PPA if you identified the package (not on the main PPA so to not overwrite kde 4.10 package). Which PPA is that package from so that I can backport and recompile from it?

    @pali:


    Yes, the lack of free time
    Hi!

    IIRC it is one of the kde packages from Kubuntu backports, but I'll check that tonight when I get home and will tell you the exact source package. And thanks for updating glamor to 0.5.1. I saw that dependency yesterday after Michael's post about glamor being enabled in the ati DDX.

    Regards

  10. #610
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Italy
    Posts
    139

    Default

    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ apt-cache rdepends libwayland0 libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0 libwayland-dev libwayland-cursor0
    libwayland0
    Reverse Depends:
    libwayland-client0:i386
    libwayland-client0:i386
    libwayland-server0:i386
    libwayland-server0:i386
    libwayland-client0
    libwayland-client0
    libwayland-server0
    libwayland-server0
    libegl1-mesa-drivers
    libegl1-mesa
    libegl1-mesa-drivers
    libegl1-mesa
    libwayland0:i386
    libwayland0:i386
    weston
    libwayland0-dbg
    libwayland-dev
    libgtk-3-0
    libegl1-mesa-drivers
    libegl1-mesa
    libwayland-client0
    Reverse Depends:
    libwayland-client0:i386
    libwayland-client0:i386
    libwayland-cursor0
    libwayland-client0-dbg
    libwayland-dev
    libgbm1
    libgtk-3-0
    libegl1-mesa-drivers
    libegl1-mesa
    libwayland-server0
    Reverse Depends:
    libwayland-server0:i386
    libwayland-server0:i386
    libwayland-server0-dbg
    libwayland-dev
    libgbm1
    libegl1-mesa-drivers
    libegl1-mesa
    libwayland-dev
    Reverse Depends:
    libwayland-dev:i386
    libgtk-3-dev
    libwayland-dev:i386
    libgtk-3-dev
    libwayland-cursor0
    Reverse Depends:
    libwayland-cursor0:i386
    libwayland-cursor0:i386
    libwayland-cursor0-dbg
    libwayland-dev
    libgtk-3-0
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$

    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get dist-upgrade
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    utile eseguire "apt-get -f install" per correggere ci.
    I seguenti pacchetti hanno dipendenze non soddisfatte:
    libegl1-mesa : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libegl1-mesa-drivers : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    libgbm1 : Dipende: libwayland-client0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    Dipende: libwayland-server0 (>= 1.2.1) ma non installato
    E: Dipendenze non trovate. Riprovare usando -f.
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$ sudo apt-get -f install
    Lettura elenco dei pacchetti... Fatto
    Generazione albero delle dipendenze
    Lettura informazioni sullo stato... Fatto
    Correzione delle dipendenze... Fatto
    I seguenti pacchetti saranno inoltre installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    I seguenti pacchetti NUOVI saranno installati:
    libwayland-client0 libwayland-server0
    0 aggiornati, 2 installati, 0 da rimuovere e 23 non aggiornati.
    9 non completamente installati o rimossi.
    necessario scaricare 0 B/52,7 kB di archivi.
    Dopo quest'operazione, verranno occupati 188 kB di spazio su disco.
    Continuare [S/n]? s
    (Lettura del database... 202732 file e directory attualmente installati.)
    Estrazione di libwayland-client0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-client.so.0.1.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Estrazione di libwayland-server0:amd64 (da .../libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb)...
    dpkg: errore nell'elaborare /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb (--unpack):
    tentata sovrascrittura di "/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu/libwayland-server.so.0" presente anche nel pacchetto libwayland0:amd64 1.0.5-0ubuntu1
    Si sono verificati degli errori nell'elaborazione:
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-client0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    /var/cache/apt/archives/libwayland-server0_1.2.1-1~r~gd_amd64.deb
    E: Sub-process /usr/bin/dpkg returned an error code (1)
    vincenzo@AthlonII-X4-640:~$

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •