Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Framebuffer Hell in OpenSuse10.2 (1900xt, Gnome)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Framebuffer Hell in OpenSuse10.2 (1900xt, Gnome)

Hello, I did search, but couldn't find what I was looking for.

I just installed Opensuse on my desktop. It did not detect my GPU, and is currently running in 1024x720 in framebuffer mode. It looks pretty bad on my 1440x900 widescreen. I couldn't find presets for my monitor in the hardware config, either. So I went to the suse wiki (http://en.opensuse.org/Howto/ATI_Dri...stall_packages) and tried to follow the ati driver install instructions, but to no avail. I am new to linux and have no idea how to run the commands correctly. I'm worried that the card simply isn't being recognised by the OS.

Call me lazy (I am) but I expected the OS to detect it and ask if I wanted to install drivers.

I also tried to use Konvenient Suse to get it done, but I couldn't even install that.

I have a similar problem in Ubuntu, though it is limited to incorrect resolution rather than being able to install the drivers.

Signed,

Incompetent and at your mercy.

PS:
    The monitor is a Belinea 1925S1W. The prod. # was not listed in the monitor list in Yast.

Running one computer here with Opensuse 10.2 and x1900xt.... It should be ok...

I will try to explain 'the easy'st' way (i hope).

First of all you need to open Yast2 and install kernel-source and gcc.

Download the driver from ati (remember where you save it):

open your gnome-terminal, write su and enter your root password

write init 3 and it shuts down gnome...

login as root in the terminal

cd to where you downloaded (propably Desktop) so, cd to your home's desktop (cd /home/[username]/Desktop)

Build an RPM package, you need to know wheter you installed 32 or 64 bit linux?!

If 32bit run (change name if not the same driver):
    sh ati-driver-installer-8.38.6-x86.x86_64.run --buildpkg SuSE/SUSE102-IA32