AMD64 Fedora Core 6, Need much help

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• AMD64 Fedora Core 6, Need much help

Hi, so if it's not obvious, I am very new to Fedora Core 6 as well as the whole Linux world. Few the past couple days I have been trying in vain to install drivers for my ATI Radeon X1300. I have followed several tutorials. All of which have failed. I have tried both the open source drivers as well as the ATI proprietary drivers.

When reading this forum, I noticed that people tend to have better luck. So, I was looking for some recommendations. That is, if you knew of a step-by-step guide I could use; which release of the ATI drivers would be best; etc. that would be great.

I see hints around these forums to install scripts that you have made, but all the links seem to be broken.

I am using kernel 2.6.20-1.2948.fc6

Please help!

Welcome to the forums.

First off, the install scripts are for legacy hardware and not your X1300.

If you have all of the software development tools and libraries installed, you should be able to just run ./ati-driver-file-name.run --buildpkg Fedora/FC6 and it will generate the needed RPMs. When that is done, you can then install the resulting RPMs (using rpm -ivh syntax).

After that, reboot or restart X and you should be good to go.
    Michael Larabel
    https://www.michaellarabel.com/

Comment

Thanks for the quick reply. I have a problem with the rpm though.

When trying to rpm -ivh, ATI-fglrx-8.36.5-1.fc6.x86_64.rpm, I get this:

Code:
      /var/tmp/rpm-tmp.45718: line 11:  5217 Segmentation fault      /usr/bin/aticonfig --initial >/dev/null 2>&1
      error: %post(ATI-fglrx-8.36.5-1.fc6.x86_64) scriptlet failed, exit status 139
      Last edited by Etano; 28 May 2007, 05:55 PM.

Comment

Ok, I quit X, and then I was able to install those files.

However, now whenever I boot kernel 2.6.20-1.2948.fc6, I get a blank screen before I even get the login screen. What would this have to do with?

Comment