Page 39 of 41 FirstFirst ... 293738394041 LastLast
Results 381 to 390 of 408

Thread: AMD's opensource lies exposed

  1. #381
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    55

    Default

    Then let me ask in other way, why is that firmware not in the chip?
    So the user needs to activate the non-free repo, if such repo exist, that he can use the "free" driver.

  2. #382
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by towo2099 View Post
    Then let me ask in other way, why is that firmware not in the chip?
    It runs on the chip.

    The reason why it is uploaded by the drivers is that it makes it possible to fix errors after you release the hardware. Just update the microcode.

    If you burn the microcode onto the chip, you would have to replace the entire 300$ GPU if there is a bug in the microcode.

    Yeah, it sucks. But your Intel processor and your motherboard chipset and pretty much everything else in your computer runs unfree microcode too. It's just not as obvious.

  3. #383
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,458

    Default

    The microcode is not burned into the chip because running it from RAM allows us to have a shorter design cycle -- it lets us avoid having to re-fab the chips if we need to change microcode before launch.

    There are a few different kinds of code that all get lumped together as "firmware". Some is horizontal microcode driving hardware state machines, some is really a big chunk of the driver that runs on a general purpose CPU on chip, and there are a few examples in between. Our microcode is closer to the hardware state machine end of the spectrum (where it's really part of the hardware design) but it all gets lumped into the "non-free" repository together.

  4. #384
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    locked to the refresh rate (60fps) at 1920x1080. On the cheapest r700 budget card on the market.

    That's enough for me!

    I'd rather have Unigine tech demos not working than have KDE and gvim not working, thank you very much Mr. WorkraFt!
    Yawn.....


  5. #385
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    %&+%&/&%%&/ 60 FPS ^()(!'/^&%(/& That's enough for me!
    Yawn.....
    ROFLMAO! well done... beautiful composition

  6. #386
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    988

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by towo2099 View Post
    Then let me ask in other way, why is that firmware not in the chip?
    Putting the firmware on a chip doesn't suddenly make it 'free', it still remains proprietary. Perhaps putting the firmware on a chip will give Debian users a clear conscience, but from a 'freedom' perspective nothing has fundamentally changed.

    IMO Debian users and priests should take a good look at what they are doing, understand how ridiculous it is and develop a more sane approach to firmware.

  7. #387
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    2,929

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by deanjo View Post
    Yawn.....

    Is that nouveau?

    I call bullshit.

    If not, who cares?

  8. #388
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Location
    .ca
    Posts
    402

    Default

    Time for a car analogy:
    If you have a car that is built to open specs, and another one that is rented, but not yours, it's pretty clear which one can be better seen during night, and how long ago the meal was cooked. And after all, that's what counts.

  9. #389
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    145

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat
    I call bullshit.
    If not, who cares?
    C'mon maan! Relax... Sing a song:



    thats what I call beauty

  10. #390
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Third Rock from the Sun
    Posts
    6,583

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by pingufunkybeat View Post
    Is that nouveau?

    I call bullshit.

    If not, who cares?
    Lol, can't read the nvidia panel? Nouveau doesn't even support the GTX-580 yet. Suck it up buttercup.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •