Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 22

Thread: problem with Radeon AH 4650 (agp)

  1. #11
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsynoKhi0 View Post
    *1 minute edit windoooooooooooow...
    1 minute edit windoooooooooow...
    I hope your death will be painfully sloooooooooooow...
    Can you cause me anything but wooooooooooOOOOOOO*cough*OOOEeeeeEee...*

    BTW what does your xorg.conf look like?
    Specs on your PSU?
    lol, yea.

    Adding "nopat" in grub didn't change anything. xorg.conf is listed in post 6 above (end of post).

    The PSU is an Antec 350 W. That could actually be the problem, the sys reqs for the AH4650 is 400 W minimum.

  2. #12
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Sorry, menu.lst only applies to grub legacy, menu.cfg is the right configuration file for grub2... =S.

    So far, your grub.cfg file seems to be properly configured... but why is it booting with "single" in the command line? =S

    About the "nopat" option: I also have a HD4650 AGP in a 7-year-old desktop (P4 Canterwood overclocked @3.6GHz) and it's working properly without that command option...

    Cheers

  3. #13
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    yup bevildering with the "single" stuff

    god to hear that others have 4560 AGP up and running in Linux though. I bet my problem is the PSU. I'll try to get hold of a new one later this week.

    thanks both / Anfanglir

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anfanglir View Post
    yup bevildering with the "single" stuff

    god to hear that others have 4560 AGP up and running in Linux though. I bet my problem is the PSU. I'll try to get hold of a new one later this week.

    thanks both / Anfanglir
    And you can be very sure it's very nice that we can use this graphics card to play full HD videos / even playing some demanding games only using an old P4 / Athlon / Athlon64 processor... The graphics card does the "hard work" for the processor.

    Ok, if there are any problems after that, don't hesitate to post here again...

    Cheers

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,434

    Default

    If you are not running "aticonfig --initial" after driver installation make sure you do... not exactly sure what it does but it is part of the install instructions and systems do seem more likely to work after running it.

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    519

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anfanglir View Post
    xorg.conf is listed in post 6 above (end of post)
    Woops my bad... Looking good at any rate.
    The HD4650 AGP requires extra power through a 4- or 6-pin connector doesn't it?
    About the 350W Antec, I had one (Smartpower line I suppose?). It litterally exploded, even if it's not the cause of your troubles you might want to change it
    A Corsair CX500 should do. Good build at a bargain, 2 years warranty.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by PsynoKhi0 View Post
    Woops my bad... Looking good at any rate.
    The HD4650 AGP requires extra power through a 4- or 6-pin connector doesn't it?
    About the 350W Antec, I had one (Smartpower line I suppose?). It litterally exploded, even if it's not the cause of your troubles you might want to change it
    A Corsair CX500 should do. Good build at a bargain, 2 years warranty.
    Yes, it requires an extra power connector...
    Cheers

  8. #18
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    8

    Default

    OK so upgraded to a 500w PSU. No change, still hangs at startup. Finally tired of this so I installed XP (!), loaded the Catalyst drivers, rebooted, and... uhhm yea XP also hangs at startup.

    So tomorrow I go shopping for a new motherboard and and new PCU. As I feel I have to make use of the new 4650, I'm aiming at a Asrock 4coredual MB, coz it have both AGP and PCIE slots.

    :\ Anfanglir

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    257

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Anfanglir View Post
    OK so upgraded to a 500w PSU. No change, still hangs at startup. Finally tired of this so I installed XP (!), loaded the Catalyst drivers, rebooted, and... uhhm yea XP also hangs at startup.

    So tomorrow I go shopping for a new motherboard and and new PCU. As I feel I have to make use of the new 4650, I'm aiming at a Asrock 4coredual MB, coz it have both AGP and PCIE slots.

    :\ Anfanglir
    Does your system hangs at startup?! At least, does it reboot automatically on XP? If so, it might be an hardware failure... (XP reboots automatically if there's a BSOD / HW driver failure).

    If I were you, I'd ask for a refund for your HD4650 (if you can do it), and I'd bought a HD4650 PCI-E... (they're cheaper)

    Cheers

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    1,946

    Default

    Update your mb BIOS.
    Experiment disabling AGP Aperture completely.
    4650 is not true AGP card but has a chip to transfer. Maybe it is the root of problem.
    Does 9700 worked well?
    4650 only requires extra power because AGP provides far less amperage than PCIe. PCIe version only from 4770 want extra juice.


    If you live in germany and want, I have nvidia 6800 128mb agp card lying around, I could sell it to you for very symbolic price. I also have old barton 2500+ one of remarked bartons that easily work at 3200+ and around 1Gb of ddr1 RAM(512+512). NF-7S is seeks the owner too

    As alternative consider either intel Exxx dualcore chips(e5200 for example) with p45/p43 boards, or amd Athlon II chips - they are cheap and strong solutions.

    I think you have some hardware (setup) issue.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •