Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: ATI HD6870 driver and GPU! can't get it to work

Hybrid View

Default ATI HD6870 driver and GPU! can't get it to work

I am trying to get a HD6870 card to work under Fedora Core 11. So obviously there is no driver. I installed the ATI Catalyst™ 10.11 and followed steps suggested by Hackerfoo and removing the watermarks using the script written by Kano.
    After installing ATI Stream SDK 2.2, I was unable to get it to work. I keep getting this error.

HelloCL!
    Getting Platform Information
    Creating a context AMD platform
    Getting device info
    Loading and compiling CL source
    We couldn't load CL source code

What does this mean? Does this mean there is something wrong at the driver end or I messed up the installation of the SDK2.2? Sorry, I am new to all this. Is there anyway to get stream computing to work on HD6870.
    Thanks for your help

It means fglrx is a lie and your card will not work properly for another 2 years at best, until Gallium 3D or so matures.

It's been like this situation for more than 5 years, not a single bit has changed. Fglrx is still a lie.

Quote Originally Posted by FunkyRider View Post
    It means fglrx is a lie and your card will not work properly for another 2 years at best, until Gallium 3D or so matures.

It's been like this situation for more than 5 years, not a single bit has changed. Fglrx is still a lie.
    No, no, wait for the *next* driver...

Today is the day HD 6900 (Cayman) releases. I have cash at hand and was waiting to pop in the store and nip one, EVEN IF there is no OSS support might be for some years, just to show that I still cares about ATI. However, open it's official website and select driver for HD 6000, there not even a Linux option there. I am forced to buy the green's product again, sorry AMD.

Quote Originally Posted by FunkyRider View Post