Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: ATI FirePro V9800 4GB

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,538

    Default ATI FirePro V9800 4GB

    Phoronix: ATI FirePro V9800 4GB

    Earlier this year AMD rolled out the ATI FirePro V8800 workstation graphics card as their new high-end offering derived from their Evergreen architecture and to serve as the next-generation solution to the FirePro V8700 / V8750. The FirePro V8800 2GB though is no longer AMD's top workstation graphics card as this morning they are rolling out the ATI FirePro V9800 4GB.

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=15265

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Maybe Phoronix should start using the new name as AMD Radeon and not the obsolete ATI brand name? See: http://blogs.amd.com/play/2010/08/30...and-portfolio/

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,081

    Default

    Something can't be "drove" by something else.... it has to be "driven".

    Also... running those high res displays does NOT require additional active DP-DVI adapters.... those would ONLY be required IF the high res monitors were DVI monitors. You can drive 2560x1600 straight off DP if they are DP monitors.

  4. #4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by droidhacker View Post
    Also... running those high res displays does NOT require additional active DP-DVI adapters.... those would ONLY be required IF the high res monitors were DVI monitors. You can drive 2560x1600 straight off DP if they are DP monitors.
    Well right, you wouldn't need a DVI adapter for a DP monitor, but will make it more clear.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    351

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Licaon View Post
    Maybe Phoronix should start using the new name as AMD Radeon and not the obsolete ATI brand name? See: http://blogs.amd.com/play/2010/08/30...and-portfolio/
    Those are AMD's own marketing materials and they say ATI.

    When in Rome...

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    989

    Default

    I can't help but notice that the slides posted by Michael say "NDA Required" and "Do Not Distribute". Maybe AMD forgot to take that off before they published them but... kinda weird

  7. #7

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by allquixotic View Post
    I can't help but notice that the slides posted by Michael say "NDA Required" and "Do Not Distribute". Maybe AMD forgot to take that off before they published them but... kinda weird
    My NDA for it expired at midnight.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Location
    Portugal
    Posts
    945

    Default

    Shouldn't this be the AMD FirePro? Looks like not even AMD is using their own branding strategy :P

    6x 2560x1600 monitors would use about 280MB for the framebuffer alone (with triple buffering). Nice!

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    3,073

    Default

    I don't think the AMD branding switch happens until the 6000 series, for existing cards they will stay ATI. At least, I know that's true for the consumer cards - less sure about FirePro.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •