Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 57

Thread: Progress On The ATI R600g Gallium3D Driver

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    14,361

    Default Progress On The ATI R600g Gallium3D Driver

    Phoronix: Progress On The ATI R600g Gallium3D Driver

    As was just talked about in announcing the open-source 2D and 3D support for ATI Evergreen GPUs, the R600g driver has been gaining lots of momentum in the past few weeks. Ever since this open-source Gallium3D driver that aims to provide hardware-acceleration for ATI Radeon HD 2000/3000/4000 (and potentially Radeon HD 5000 series) hardware took a shader compiler shortcut a few weeks back, it seems almost every time our RSS feed for the Mesa Git change-log refreshes there is a new R600g driver change...

    http://www.phoronix.com/vr.php?view=ODUzMA

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2009
    Posts
    2,064

    Default

    For what its worth, GALLIUM3D should be the focus.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2007
    Location
    Toronto-ish
    Posts
    7,386

    Default

    Yep, that is our current thinking as well. Now that we have gone through the pain and figured out how to make the Evergreen chips run (more or less) it shouldn't be too hard to add EG support to the Gallium3D driver.

    That's what we are hoping, anyways

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,264

    Question

    Quote Originally Posted by bridgman View Post
    Yep, that is our current thinking as well. Now that we have gone through the pain and figured out how to make the Evergreen chips run (more or less) it shouldn't be too hard to add EG support to the Gallium3D driver.

    That's what we are hoping, anyways
    I have a nasty feeling you had to work around added DRM, am I correct?

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Perth, Scotland
    Posts
    435

    Default

    I suspect many people (like me) have bought into this open ATI thing already but are not buying newer cards (I'm sticking with 4670) simply because they won't work yet. So you might as well focus on Gallium3D.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Just tried ut2003 on gallium with my RV740 and it kinda works. Visuals are looking good, but from time to time the framebuffer content gets messed up (looks like color inversion to me) and the GPU gets reset quite frequently.

    From the kernel log when such a GPU reset happens:
    Code:
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU lockup CP stall for more than 1020msec
    ------------[ cut here ]------------
    WARNING: at drivers/gpu/drm/radeon/radeon_fence.c:235 radeon_fence_wait+0x35d/0x3c0 [radeon]()
    Hardware name: To Be Filled By O.E.M.
    GPU lockup (waiting for 0x0001A62C last fence id 0x0001A623)
    Modules linked in: cpufreq_ondemand lrw gf128mul w83627ehf hwmon_vid snd_seq_midi snd_emu10k1_synth snd_emux_synth snd_seq_virmidi snd_seq_midi_event snd_seq_midi_emul snd_seq snd_pcm_oss snd_mixer_oss reiserfs aes_x86_64 aes_generic cbc dm_crypt radeon ttm drm_kms_helper drm i2c_algo_bit cfbcopyarea cfbimgblt cfbfillrect powernow_k8 mperf snd_emu10k1 snd_rawmidi snd_ac97_codec ac97_bus snd_pcm r8169 i2c_piix4 snd_seq_device i2c_core ehci_hcd ohci_hcd sg mii k10temp snd_timer snd_page_alloc snd_util_mem snd_hwdep
    Pid: 3279, comm: X Tainted: G        W   2.6.35.2 #2
    Call Trace:
     [<ffffffff8103b65a>] warn_slowpath_common+0x7a/0xb0
     [<ffffffff8103b731>] warn_slowpath_fmt+0x41/0x50
     [<ffffffffa0176b1d>] radeon_fence_wait+0x35d/0x3c0 [radeon]
     [<ffffffff81053530>] ? autoremove_wake_function+0x0/0x40
     [<ffffffffa01773ec>] radeon_sync_obj_wait+0xc/0x10 [radeon]
     [<ffffffffa0135f67>] ttm_bo_wait+0xf7/0x1b0 [ttm]
     [<ffffffffa018c332>] radeon_gem_wait_idle_ioctl+0x92/0x130 [radeon]
     [<ffffffffa00f279a>] drm_ioctl+0x3ba/0x460 [drm]
     [<ffffffff8104b371>] ? get_signal_to_deliver+0x341/0x460
     [<ffffffffa018c2a0>] ? radeon_gem_wait_idle_ioctl+0x0/0x130 [radeon]
     [<ffffffff8100c6ce>] ? save_i387_xstate+0x18e/0x1e0
     [<ffffffff810018fd>] ? do_signal+0x17d/0x780
     [<ffffffff810c25f8>] vfs_ioctl+0x38/0xd0
     [<ffffffff81002c8e>] ? apic_timer_interrupt+0xe/0x20
     [<ffffffff810c27a0>] do_vfs_ioctl+0x80/0x520
     [<ffffffff8100c4d0>] ? restore_i387_xstate+0x110/0x180
     [<ffffffff810c2cb9>] sys_ioctl+0x79/0x90
     [<ffffffff810023ab>] system_call_fastpath+0x16/0x1b
    ---[ end trace 68d2c582426de957 ]---
    [drm] Disabling audio support
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: ffff88012fef0600 unpin not necessary
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU softreset 
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008010_GRBM_STATUS=0xA2733028
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008014_GRBM_STATUS2=0x00000102
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_000E50_SRBM_STATUS=0x200000C0
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008020_GRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00007FEE
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: R_008020_GRBM_SOFT_RESET=0x00000001
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008010_GRBM_STATUS=0x00003028
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_008014_GRBM_STATUS2=0x00000002
    radeon 0000:01:00.0:   R_000E50_SRBM_STATUS=0x200000C0
    radeon 0000:01:00.0: GPU reset succeed
    [drm] Clocks initialized !
    [drm] ring test succeeded in 1 usecs
    [drm] ib test succeeded in 1 usecs
    [drm] Enabling audio support
    This is with:
    Linux voodoomaster 2.6.35.2 #2 SMP PREEMPT Thu Aug 19 23:43:06 CEST 2010 x86_64 AMD Athlon(tm) 7750 Dual-Core Processor AuthenticAMD GNU/Linux

    I'm currently back to vanilla 2.6.35.2 since the d-r-t branch seems to have some issue with my Promise PATA controller (I get constant ATA bus errors and eventually the main filesystem is remounted ro).

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    82

    Default

    Forgot to mention this: Performance is of course really slow and I had to patch r600g to put these gallium.bof dump files into /tmp and not into the local directory. Without this gallium this to create the bof dumps in the ut2003 System directory, to which the normal user doesn't have write access - this results in a segfault and gallium dies

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Finland
    Posts
    1,577

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by LiquidAcid View Post
    Performance is of course really slow
    Did you try after that commit that added occlusion queries, btw?

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2009
    Posts
    82

    Default

    commit id is 121aa3cfcb106be1ecaae102177bb882bfbce9d9, so yes.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    29

    Default

    It's just a shame we won't get texture compression.

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •