Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 61

Thread: Fixed: The Linux Desktop Responsiveness Problem?

  1. #51
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    120

    Default

    I haven't really noticed this problem since I stopped using swap. I also use the -ck patchset.

    Would I benefit from this patch at all or should I not bother?

    (I'm willing to test this if no one knows.)

  2. #52
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Have a good day.
    Posts
    678

    Default

    If it ain't broken...tweak it.

  3. #53
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    I have 6GB RAM, so it's not a RAM issue.

  4. #54
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    99

    Default

    Maybe there should be a swap priority setting that will tell the kernel to disfavor swapping out UI processes, since LRU (or whatever the current algorithm is) isn't working. All-or-nothing mlock is probably not sufficient for this. Maybe setting higher ionice levels for UI-related processes in the startup scripts would help, too.

  5. #55
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    160

    Default

    I've got rid of this problem on my laptop after some realtime patches got merged and I set my scheduler to preemptible.
    but it persists on my desktop ... I thought it was a bad working raid driver.

    Quote Originally Posted by movieman View Post
    Yeah, I used to love the way that XP would swap out the web browser I was actively using when I was copying a 2GB file from one drive to another in the background.
    Try Windows7 it's the same all the way.

  6. #56
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Ragas View Post
    I've got rid of this problem on my laptop after some realtime patches got merged and I set my scheduler to preemptible.
    but it persists on my desktop ... I thought it was a bad working raid driver.


    Try Windows7 it's the same all the way.
    Yup same deal on Win 7 Pro

  7. #57
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    Here, Windows 7 does not freeze when copying big files.

  8. #58
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Connecticut,USA
    Posts
    974

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RealNC View Post
    Here, Windows 7 does not freeze when copying big files.
    It does for some people including me

  9. #59
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Greece
    Posts
    3,801

    Default

    You also need to clarify what "freeze" means to you :P If you mean that the GUI gets skippy and lags a bit, yes I have that too. If you mean that the GUI is unusable for half a minute, then no, I only have that on Linux.

  10. #60
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    2,264

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by DeepDayze View Post
    It does for some people including me
    Do you have an SSD? Windows is notoriously know for locking up explorer (that's also the GUI) when devices are not responsive.

    A lot of SSD's out there, especialy older SSD models, are know for being unresponsive when writing, because that usualy blocks reading.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •